Labels

Showing posts with label hobby and craft reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label hobby and craft reviews. Show all posts

Friday, July 6, 2018

JTDOT 18 Pack Wood Rectangle Small Chalkboards




This set of 18 Wood rectangle chalkboards are the small size. They are 3 inches tall by 4 inches wide. They come with a 2 piece stand you just slide together. These are great for adding to tables at weddings, birthday parties, reunions, actually any type of party or get together. They are great for numbering tables when sing a seating arrangement. They would also would work great for a buffet as well, you could write the food name on each one.

The set comes with 18 mini chalkboards. Each chalkboard and stand are individually wrapped to protect the fronts of the chalkboards. It comes with a small chalkboard eraser made out of a sponge and a stick of white chalk. I wrote on the one chalkboard and used the eraser dry to erase it and it did not work. I had to wet the eraser to get the board cleaned. The chalkboard is one of the stickers on top of the wood it is not painted one. I do not mean this in a bad way at all, the writing will not get smudged off until we are ready to take it off. These will be placed on the tables at my daughters wedding coming up very soon.

Check it out on Amazon

#minichalkboard #partydecorations #party #decorations #Wedding 

I received this product for free or at a discounted price in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.



Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Big Book of Weekend Beading by Jean Power



This is a great book for everyone, beginners and seasoned beaders as well. The first part of the book explains beading in full. Everything from tools, types, tips, materials and more. Then you get over 30 projects with step by step easy to follow instructions. The projects in the book are great for jewelry, clothing, and more. All of the projects are made to be complete over a weekend.

I love all of the different beading projects. Some are made from string and small beads some are large beads and wire. The book is great to make projects as listed or you can even add your own twists to the project. These projects are great for making and giving as gifts as well.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.


Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Foam Crafts for Kids by Suzanne McNeil



Summer is here and the kids are out of school. Mine are running around yelling I'm bored, a lot!! Foam Craft for kids features over 100 projects for the kids to make. Foam sheets are available in so many different stores and they are cheap. Our Dollar tree even sells them by the packs of several sheets as well as stickers and shapes.  This book is great for kids of all ages and even us adults can have fun with this book.

The thing I really like about this book is is get the imagination flowing and the kids can create these projects their way and also come up with some new projects on their own. Who knew few foam sheets and bottle of glue could save Mom's sanity?

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.

Monday, June 18, 2018

How to Draw Almost Everything for Kids by Naoko Sakamoto



This book is great for kids, but even adults could use this book for learning how to draw. I am not at all an artist. I can't draw a straight line with a ruler. i love how this book shows you what you will be drawing then you gives you spaces to trace over their lighter lines, then blank spaces for you to practice. Heck even I was able to draw with this book.

The book is broken down into sections like : faces, food, everyday things, icons, animals and more. It gives you coloring patterns, color schemes, different types of pens and more. Like I said this boo is great for kids and adults alike.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.

Cat Lady Embroidery by Applemints



This is not your normal cross stitch book. Like other books it is filled with patterns. There are 380 ways to stitch a cat. There are cat faces, whole cats, cat alphabets, cat boarders, and more.

These are not full pictures or scenes. The book allows to make your own designs and add the cats to it.

The book has stitch guides, tool & materials, thread conversion charts, project inspiration guide and more.

This book is great for cat lovers. It's also good for beginner stitchers and advanced as well.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Improper Cross-Stitch by Haley Pierson-Cox


I received a preview copy of this book. For the few patterns Included in the review they were cute and different from anything else I have seen in the cross stitch world. I would of loved it if they hd of added the cover pattern.

Included in the book are several tips to making cross stitch seem easier, as well has shopping tips, and a index of the tools of the trade. With each pattern there is a full color picture of the finished design, a full color pattern, and a list of the floss needed to complete the project as pictured.

I would loved to have been given the full book but since I wasn't I will just have to keep my eye out for in my local craft store or online. The full book features 35 patterns of naughty, funny, and improper patterns.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.

Monday, June 11, 2018

Love Beneath the Mighty Dome by Ronald J. Wichers



Book Details:



Book Title: Love Beneath the Mighty Dome: Volume 1 by Ronald J. Wichers

Category: Adut Fiction, 332 pages

Genre: Literary Fiction, Mystery and Suspense

Publisher: Outskirts Press

Release date: September 21, 2017

Tour dates: July 2 to 27, 2018

Content Rating: PG-13



Book Description:



What if you felt that Almighty God had called you personally to devote your life exclusively to His service only to discover that those in charge of your training were people not worthy of your respect? Would you stubbornly stick to your path? Would you rebel and try to change the institution from within? Would you begin to doubt yourself and your own integrity? Or would you question whether the institution itself was actually what its founder, Jesus of Nazareth, had intended so many hundreds of generations before you?



Turn the pages of Love Beneath the Mighty Dome and discover what happens to those confronted by just this dilemma, how it affects their lives, their ability to function, their ability to love.



To follow the tour, please visit Ronald J. Wichers' page on iRead Book Tours.





Buy the Book:

Watch the book trailer:






Meet the Author:



Ronald J. Wichers was born in Lake Ronkonkoma New York in 1947. He attended Catholic School until 1965, studied History and literature at the University of Nevada at Las Vegas until being drafted into the United States Army in 1970. He was assigned to a rifle company in the 25th Infantry Division in Vietnam and, after sustaining severe wounds in a gun battle, including the loss of his left am, was awarded the Purple Heart Medal, the Army Commendation Medal for Heroism and the Bronze Star Medal.



He later studied theology full time at the Graduate Theological Union in Berkeley California. He has published several short stories about the Vietnam war. The Fear of Being Eaten/A Biography of the Heart is his fifth novel.



Connect with the author: Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Interview with Ronald J. Wichers
What genre do you write and why?
I write in a realistic style about war and religion because those have brought me the most vivid and sometimes searing experiences of my life. The types of people who inhabit those realms are often larger than life, unbelievable yet real. War and religion are all too often wrapped up in one odd package.
What is the last great book you've read?
The Red and the Black by Stendhal.

Do you snack while writing? Favorite snack?
I don’t eat while I write. I drink coffee.

Where do you write?
In a small office in the house.

Do you write every day?
Yes.

What is writing schedule?
Five a.m. to around eight, then the same hours, in the evening.

Is there a specific ritualistic thing you do during your writing time?
I can’t think of anything like that.

In today's tech savvy world, most writers use a computer or laptop. Have you ever
written parts of your book on paper?

I wrote the first draft of On The Fault, in longhand on lined paper.



Enter the Giveaway!
Ends Aug 4, 2018


a Rafflecopter giveaway







Thursday, April 19, 2018

The Little Book of Lettering & Word Design Cari Ferraro


I love doing all kinds of crafts. One I have never really been able to do is to personalize some of the things I make. Because I have never learned how to write in fancy scripts. This book is awesome.

It shows a different type of script on each page and then there is a blank page for you too practice. It's is kind of like a penmanship book from kindergarten, Only you get fancy letters instead of plain old block style letters.

There is a section on showing the correct pens to use and how to load the inks. There are also tips throughout the book.

If you have an interest in Calligraphy this is the perfect book.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Crochet Loom Blooms 30 Fabulous Crochet Flowers & Projects by Haafner Linssen


I have had a set of crochet looms setting in my craft room for years collecting dust. Now I have wiped off the dust and can begin making beautiful afghans, pot holders, and more with the awesome book.

I was never really sure just what to do wit the looms or how to make them thick enough, or really how to do much with them. This book is filled with 30 easy to follow projects.

The patterns tells you which size loom to use, how many colors to work with, which yarns work best, and a list of the tools you will need to complete the project.

Making the blooms on the loom doesn't really take that long at all. In no time you can have enough blooms for a king size blanket. The connecting is what takes a bit longer. Come are just made by sewing the blooms together, others you need to crochet around each bloom to connect them.

The designs in this book are all beautiful and can be done in as many and any colors you choose. There are projects from pot holders to blankets and everything in between.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.

Dishcloths to Crochet by Pat Olski


I love handmade items and these Crochet Dishcloths are so pretty can't wait to have them in my kitchen. My Daughter and Mom are going to help me make them all. We may even make a set for each of the girls in our family.

The book is filled with easy to follow instructions but you do have to know a little about crochet and how to read the patterns. There are 25 patterns in the book, not just the 5 on the cover. There is a list of the abbreviations and a needle conversion chart.

Each pattern shows a picture of the finished product, dimensions, the best yarns to use, notions needs, needle size, and a stitch glossary.

With the 25 patterns you can make these to go with pretty much any kitchen decor. There are animals, fruits, and flowers to choose from. You can make them in any color you want even.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.

Friday, February 9, 2018

Southern Quilts: Celebrating Traditions, History, and Designs by Mary W Kerr



Growing up with a bunch and being a hillbilly myself I have seen some tons of homemade quilts and have some at my house now. My Grandmothers Aunts and Mom have all quilted my entire life. I have even made a few.
 I have seen some really beautiful quilts that tell stories as well as some that are just plain block quilts to keep you warm at night. I have seen quilts made out of old clothing, Lord knows my Grandmothers had stacks of what I call rag bags and they called them their quilt pieces. My Grandmothers are both gone now but looking through this book brought back a lot of my childhood.
  This book is filled with pictures and a short backstory of quilt designs that became popular mostly in the late 1800's and early 1900's. The picture are stunning and I would love to have so all of the quilts in my house.
  The book gives the name to each design and also pictures of the variations of the design. If you love quilts or just think they are pretty you will love this book. If you want to learn how to make a specific quilt you will now have a name of the design in order to search for patterns. If you are thinking of adding a southern theme to a bedroom this book could also help you decide on a quilt to go with the room.
  Mary Kerr has one a fabulous job with this book. It would make an excellent addition to any crafters collection.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Creating Celtic Knotwork: A Fresh Approach to Traditional Design by Cari Buziak



I am so excited about this book. I have always wanted to learn how to make Celtic knots. They are so beautiful. I honestly figured they would be extremely hard to make and that it would take years of training to get them right. With this book, a sheet of graph paper, and a pack of markers I have learned the art. No mine are not totally perfect yet but I can say I have designed and made a few already. I have even used some plain craft ribbon to make some of my creations. I have designed a small knot to make out of wire to make earrings and a matching necklace to give as gifts.

This book is an instruction manual to making Celtic knots. It takes you step by step through multiple knots, shapes, and sizes. These knots are so intricate I never thought they would be so easy to make. The book is very easy to read and gives you all the information with diagrams you need to get you started and on your way to making these beautiful knots. This book is not just for beginners but advanced knot makers can find many useful tips and designs as well.

The book is very easy to follow. There is a diagram for each step in the creation process. There are simple knots, more advanced, and even shapes like the Celtic dog, lion, and even a person. This to me is the perfect book for anyone interested in making and designing Celtic knots.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.

Monday, February 5, 2018

#iMustech Washable Finger Paints, 12 Bottles (30 ml)




This is a set of 12 30 ml bottles of highly pigmented and bright colored finger paints. This set of paint is great for hours of fun for the little ones. I love watching the creativity the kids come up with. I thing toys and craft items that allow kids to be creative is very important and these paints are perfect. The kids had tons of fun creating pictures. And clean up afterwards was so easy. Just plain water and paper towels. The paints did not stain the kids hands or my table. The paints do stain clothing some but I put old aprons on the the kids and all was well.

I used some old wrapping paper and taped the corners to the table to give them a perfect canvas for their art. The paint does take quite a while to dry. The thicker paint took several hours. This may not always happen but I do live in humid Florida and the kids painted on a rainy day, so the moisture in the air may of played a part in the dry time.

The kids age 3 and 6 had so much fun painting and I had a ton of fun watching them.
Check these out on Amazon

I received this product for free or  at a discounted price in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

Friday, January 19, 2018

Lasten Plastic Storage Box




I am a crafter and I love jewelry. I have beads, sequins and other small craft items that I find it really hard to keep separated and ready for use. I also have tons of earrings. I like to keep my earrings together by pairs, I mean who doesn't. When you have about 100 pairs of earrings just dropped into a jewelry box it makes finding a pair to wear very time consuming. This box is perfect for both and many other small items. 

The dividers are removable so you can make different sized slots.With all of the dividers in place there are 36 slots. I can keep the dividers small for my earrings, or remove the divider and make room for watches or bracelets. If I am using the box for crafts I can leave them small for items I only have a few of or make them larger for bigger items or say a section that I have several beads of the same type or color.  

It has 2 flip locks on the outside to keep the box securely shut and a hanger at the end If I want to hand it for easy reach. The box is clear so you can easily see what's inside. The box is made of a hard plastic. It is 10.8 inches x 7.3 inches x 1.8 inches. Each grid is  1.8 inches x 1.6 inches x 1.2 inches. 

Check it out on Amazon

#Lasten
I received this product for free or at a discounted price in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

Wednesday, December 27, 2017

Love on the Edge by Kerry Evelyn








Inspirational Romantic Suspense
Date Published:  December 5, 2017
Publisher:  LLC: Swan Press

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

Lanie Owens has just survived a horrific attack by a stalker. Her grandfather, a retired army colonel, drives her to a resort in Maine where she can heal in peace while the authorities track down the man who almost killed her. To Lanie’s dismay, he hires a bodyguard to protect her. Lanie’s nightmares are debilitating, but giving up control of her life is unacceptable.

Former Army Ranger Matt Saunders knows all about nightmares. He’s spent the last year recovering from an injury he sustained during his last tour and the hellish events that caused it. Anxious to prove that he is fit to go back overseas, he accepts the bodyguard job. The resort is everything they imagined - tranquil, safe, and a place to heal. Gradually, they open up to each other and realize they have a lot in common – except their future plans. When a resort video goes viral, Lanie's stalker knows just where to find her.


About the Author




Kerry Evelyn has always been fascinated by people and the backstories that drive them to do what they do. She graduated from Bridgewater State University with a Bachelor of Science in Education and Sociology. A native of the Massachusetts South Coast, she taught in an inner city elementary school before moving to Florida to teach in a rural setting, and then in her own neighborhood. Fast forward a few years, and she's now a crazy blessed wife and homeschooling mom to the two sweetest kids you'll ever meet (she's also super biased). When she's not homeschooling or writing, she's mentoring moms through Mom Mastery University, sharing essential oils, and planning super fun events for her kids and their friends (although her own kids have yet to be impressed, being that every event has some sort of learning snuck in to it). She loves God, books of all kinds, traveling, taking selfies, and escaping into her imagination, where every child is happy and healthy, every house has a library, and her hubby wears coattails and a top hat 24/7.

Contact Links


Purchase Links 







Giveaway



Enter Here

RABT Book Tours & PR

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

cover reveal for Night Shift by Carey Decevito


Night Shift
Carey Decevito
(Nightshade, #2)
Publication date: January 9th 2018
Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense

A serial killer…

A past that haunts no matter how much the distance…

Which one will strike first?

Eighteen deaths over eight years has left Shane Peters itching to find his mark. The death that started it all ensured his obsession with the murderer who had turned his life into a living hell, leaving him to raise a newborn daughter on his own.

Starting over wasn’t the easiest thing, but Emberlyn Roth had managed by shear grit and the skin of her teeth. It’s too bad one can’t outrun their past.

A protector of the wronged, Shane is torn between his duty as a detective for the Jacksonville PD and a quest to find himself some peace. Red tape binds his capabilities and moonlighting as an investigator for Nightshade Securities has him feeling stretched thin. Late nights on the streets and his sense of duty keeps him from being the father he wants to be. Throw onto his already rickety house of cards, an attraction to the mysterious Emberlyn, the lead he’s got on the murderer he’s been hunting for nearly a decade, and threats his woman is receiving by an unsavory character from her past, and he’s seriously tempted to take Dalton Kipper’s offer to join his team in a permanent basis.

Rules have a place, but when you’re faced with losing the one that means most to you, lines can become blurred. With the fate of his family’s future hanging in the balance, he’s ready to risk it all.

Add to Goodreads / Pre-order



Author Bio:

Born and raised in small town Northern Ontario, Canada, Carey Decevito has always had a penchant for reading and writing.

More than a decade later, with weeks of sleepless nights, where exhaustion settled into her everyday existence, she finally gave in and put pen to paper (more like fingers to keyboard!) She submitted to the dreams that plagued her. And the rest, as they say, is history!

A member of the RWA, Carey Decevito enjoys spending time with family and friends, the outdoors, travelling, and playing tourist in Canada’s National Capital region. When life gets crazy, she seeks respite through her writing and reading. If all else fails, she knows there’s never a dull moment with her two daughters, her goofy husband, and cat who she swears is out to get her.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Friday, December 22, 2017

Flowers in Winter Hart of Rock and Roll Book 5 by Mary J. Williams




Flowers
in Winter
Hart
of Rock and Roll Book 5
by
Mary J. Williams
Genre:
Contemporary Romance

A
HART OF ROCK AND ROLL HOLIDAY ROMANCE





Tula
Carson knows what her future holds. A good life. A secure life. Safe.
Steady. Boring.
She
has no one to blame but herself. She chose the path she's on. But,
she wants something more. Something different. Now. Before it's too
late.


Fleet
Sherman is a Rock God. And he isn't afraid to enjoy the perks. Money.
Fame. Beautiful women. As far as he's concerned, his life is perfect.
Until he meets smart, funny, talented, frustrating Tula Carson. The
one woman he can't resist. The only woman he can't have.


On
the surface, Tula and Fleet seem worlds apart. She grew up loved. He
just wants to forget his childhood. She's led a sheltered life. He's
experienced everything life had to offer. Yet, from their first
meeting, they clicked.


Tula
has a chance to fulfill her dreams. But the first step is always the
hardest. Will she jump, or play it safe?


Fleet
doesn't believe he deserves a woman as good and sweet as Tula. For
her sake, he has to let her go.


A
love of music brought them together. Will their pasts tear them
apart? Do they need a Christmas miracle? Or will they realize love is
the greatest gift of all.


Grab
this
standalone
book today.






I
love books, I always have and always will. Writing is an extension of
that and though it has taken me a while to get here, I now can
officially call myself a published author.


I
grew up on a ranch in Eastern Washington, so I wanted to set my books
on the Columbia River in Washington state. Harper Falls is completely
fictitious, but I think anyone from the area will know right where it
would be if it did exist.


My
hobbies are gardening, reading, baking(fattening desserts are my
favorite), exercise(I don't love it, but it is necessary due to the
desserts), and animals. I had a dog but when he died I couldn't bring
myself to replace him. That is why I wrote Edgar, the dog into "If
I Loved You", I consider him my surrogate puppy until I can get
a real one.
I
love to get feedback on my books so I hope everyone will feel free to
leave a question or visit my website(it is a work in progress, but
I'm getting there).






Follow
the tour HERE
for exclusive
guest
posts and a giveaway!






Handler by Tish Thawer blitz


Handler
Tish Thawer
Published by: Amber Leaf Publishing
Publication date: December 19th 2017
Genres: Adult, Dystopian, Science Fiction

Our world was perfect––until we broke the law: Don’t go out at night.

Utopian by day, dystopian by night; this is the world I recently discovered. I now struggle with the fact that our whole society has been based on a lie. There’s only one way to change it––conquer the darkness we’ve all been raised to fear.

Live the lie; fight to the death; become a Handler. It’s the only way.

A sci-fi/dystopian novel.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo



Author Bio:

2017 - #1 Bestseller in Historical Fiction (Witches of BlackBrook)

2017 - Top 100 Bestselling in Paid Kindle Store (Witches of Blackbrook)

2015 - Best Cover - Penned Con (The Witches of BlackBrook)

2015 - Readers Choice Award - My New Favorite Book Awards (The Witches of BlackBrook)

Bestselling and Award Winning Author, Tish Thawer, writes paranormal romances for all ages. From her first paranormal cartoon, Isis, to the Twilight phenomenon, myth, magic, and superpowers have always held a special place in her heart.

Tish is known for her detailed world-building and magic-laced stories. Her work has been compared to Nora Roberts, Sam Cheever, and Charlaine Harris. She has received a RONE Award nomination (Reward of Novel Excellence), as well as nominations for Best Cover, Reader’s Choice, and Author of the Year (Fantasy, Dystopian, Mystery).

Tish has worked as a computer consultant, photographer, and graphic designer, and is a columnist for Gliterary Girl media and has bylines in RT Magazine and Literary Lunes Magazine. She resides in Arizona with her husband and three wonderful children and is represented by Gandolfo, Helin, and Fountain Literary Management.

You can find Tish on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AuthorTishThawer

A common FAQ: "How do you pronounce her last name?"

Answer: Think "Bower" or "Thow-er". It's Persian!

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Bennett by Sybil Bartel blitz


Bennett
Sybil Bartel
(Uncompromising #4)
Publication date: December 19th 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Being the drummer for the hottest new rock band should’ve been a dream come true. Sold out shows, women, more money than I deserved…

But I didn’t want any of it.

The fame sucked, the money was a burden and I’d given away my only chance at ever having her—my best friend’s sister.

I wasn’t supposed to touch her. My best friend made me swear I wouldn’t. Then he was deployed, and he told me to look out for her. Except being around her while still keeping my distance was slowly killing me. Touring with the band should’ve been the perfect escape… Until I fucked up.

I fucked up so bad, she was half-conscious in my arms, fighting for her life.

* BENNETT is the fourth standalone book in the Uncompromising Series.

The Uncompromising Series:

TALON

NEIL

ANDRE

BENNETT

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

EXCERPT:

I backed her against the wall and took her face in my hands. “I’m not leaving you alone.”

Her breath hitched, and her hands wrapped around my wrists, but she didn’t say anything.

I gripped her harder. “You’re not alone, you hear me? You will never be alone. I’m always going to be here for you. Always.”

Her grief, her tears, the tension in her muscles—it all stilled.

Then she stood on tiptoe and her lips landed on mine.

First shock, then eight years of blind fucking need surged, and I let loose. Growling with repressed desire and want, so much fucking want, I roared as I slammed my body against hers and shoved my tongue into her mouth.

Sweet fucking Jesus.

My hands tangling in her hair, my tongue dominating, I didn’t kiss her. I fucking took.

I took her kiss.

I took her grief.

And I took her fucking trust.

For one unbelievable moment, I had everything I’d ever wanted.

Everything.

My cock surged, my hips ground into hers, and I kissed her how I’d always wanted to. Then reality hit and I destroyed everything.

I ripped my undeserving mouth from hers and stepped back. Shattering her illusion of who I was, I rubbed the back of my hand over my mouth and prayed like fuck I didn’t break her worse. “I’m sorry.”



Author Bio:

Sybil Bartel grew up in Northern California with her head in a book and her feet in the sand. She dreamt of becoming a painter but the heady scent of libraries with their shelves full of books drew her into the world of storytelling. She loves the New Adult genre, but any story about a love so desperately wrong and impossibly beautiful makes her swoon.

Sybil now resides in Southern Florida and while she doesn’t get to read as much as she likes, she still buries her toes in the sand. If she isn’t writing or fighting to contain the banana plantation in her backyard, you can find her spending time with her handsomely tattooed husband, her brilliantly practical son and a mischievous miniature boxer…

But Seriously?

Here are ten things you probably really want to know about Sybil.

She grew up a faculty brat. She can swear like a sailor. She loves men in uniform. She hates being told what to do. She can do your taxes (but don’t ask). The Bird Market in Hong Kong freaks her out. Her favorite word is desperate…or dirty, or both—she can’t decide. She has a thing for muscle cars. But never reply on her for driving directions, ever. And she has a new book boyfriend every week—don’t tell her husband.

To find out more about Sybil Bartel, be sure to follow her on Twitter (she loves to hear about your favorite book boyfriend!), visit her website, like her on Facebook or join her Facebook group Book Boyfriend Heroes for exclusive excerpts and giveaways.

Website / Facebook / Book Boyfriend Heroes / Twitter / Bookbub / Newsletter / Amazon


GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

Tainted Lies: A Dream Walker Division Novel by Leona Nation blitz


Tainted Lies
Leona Nation
(Dream Walker Division Novel)
Publication date: December 22nd 2017
Genres: Adult, Science Fiction, Thriller

When you’re a spy with special abilities, you do what you must to save the ones you love—even if that means killing. Jade didn’t choose this life, it chose her.

Twelve years ago, Assassins forever changed Jade Saito’s world with flames and bullets. She was saved by the Dream Walker Division, a covert branch of the CIA consisting of people like her—agents with the ability to dream themselves into another’s reality as unseen observers. They also happen to be stronger, faster, and have photographic memories, making them optimal spies.

Now Jade is a field agent for the DWD where she and her unit use their abilities to take down criminal organizations. When DWD leaders start turning up dead, the compound is shaken to its core. If the leaders of the DWD aren’t safe from Assassins, no one is. But the deeper Jade digs the more she realizes not everything is as it seems. Will Jade stop the Assassins before it’s too late? Or will they they murder everyone she loves—again?

Goodreads / Amazon

Are you a book reviewer?

You can request a review copy here!

EXCERPT:

When fighting, I think about nothing but the moment. There’s no room for obsessing over the Assassins, being depressed over Brooks, or mad at Shea for wanting to leave. There’s only my opponent and me. Defeat or be defeated. I want to drag out the fight, use it as an escape. Some people revert to alcohol and drugs for escape, I use ass-kicking.

“I’ll take you down even with my gimp arm and without using pressure points,” I say.

Shawn’s smile spreads. “Ooohh, them’s fightin’ words. That’s a lot of talk for a buck-ten shorty.”

As I re-wrap my gloves, I gaze at Shawn with a wicked grin. “You forget who you’re talking to.” Shawn might have more muscle in his one bicep than I do in both of mine combined, but I can still beat him. It’s all about physics, about knowing how to use one’s weight to one’s own advantage. This is going to be fun.

I finish strapping on my gear and join Shawn in the ring. Paramore blares through the speakers and the recruits shout encouragement at us. We meet in the center and tap knuckles. Shawn gives me a wink. I laugh.

We dance around each other––backs rounded, chins down, guards up––waiting for the other to strike. Shawn is skilled and with his strength, he could knock me out with one good strike. He’s also much slower than I and tends to tire out faster. Even with working myself harder in warm-up, I have better stamina than him.

He throws a right jab. I easily dodge out of the way, light on my toes. Next he throws a combo: right jab, left hook and round house. I sidestep the jab, knock the hook away and duck under the roundhouse. I take advantage of him being on one leg and sweep his stationary leg out from under him. Shawn falls to his back with a thud, his eyes wide. I let him jump back to his feet. Although I could have, I’m not ready to end it.

Ten minutes later, Shawn’s breathing is labored. We’ve both gotten some hits in, but nothing either of us can’t recover from quickly. I see my next opening when he throws a hook followed with a spinning back kick. Not the smartest move when you’re already winded, so really, he deserves what’s coming.

As soon as Shawn’s back is to me I throw a hard kick to the back of his knee sending him to the floor in mid-kick. I jump on his back and initiate a rear naked choke hold. My arm is wrapped around his neck, under his chin, and secured into place with the other one so I don’t slip off from the sweat. My wound burns like hell, but I refuse to give up. I have him. I push his head into the crook of my arm and squeeze tighter. My arms look like a milky cobra against his dark skin.

“You better tap,” I say, out of breath. “I have no problem putting you to sleep, big guy.”

Shawn grunts, struggling to get free. I add more pressure until he finally taps. I release him and collapse on my back next to him.

“Good workout,” I say, and slap him on the shoulder. “I told you that you had no chance today.”

“Damn, girl,” Shawn says between breaths. “I feel sorry for whoever pissed you off. By the way, you’re bleeding through.”

I look at the bandage on my arm. A red blotch is staining the white cloth.

“Great, probably busted a stitch.”

“I’m trying not to gain any satisfaction from it.” He rubs his head. “If I have to lose, at least I know it’s hard on you.”

My music suddenly stops in the middle of a song. I lift my head to see Shea standing at the radio. Shea and I glare at each other for a moment. Ugh, why can’t she just follow the rules? Yeah it sucks sometimes. Brooks’s hurt eyes flash in my mind and pain explodes in my heart again. Really sucks. But that’s how it is in our world. Breaking the gaze, I get up and peel off my sparring gear.

Shawn whistles a long note, looking from Shea to me and back again. “Now that’s a fight I wouldn’t mind seein’. You all are pissed.” He chuckles. “Chick fights are hot. Can we throw in some mud? Or oil?” He nods his head. “Definitely oil.”

“Shut up, Shawn!” Shea says, rolling her eyes.

“I’m just sayin’. It would make you feel better if you hashed it out.” He spreads his hands and shrugs his large shoulders. “Well, at least it would make me feel better.”

“Shawn,” I warn.

“Can’t blame a brother for tryin’.”

As I grab a bottled water from the gym fridge, Shea and I continue to ignore one another. I head for the door, glancing down at my bleeding arm. After my shower, I’ll need to make a stop at the infirmary. I step out the door and almost run smack into Carol Breakenridge, head of the Europe DWD. She brushes off her jacket like I ruined it. Her blond hair is pulled away from her face, accentuating her angular features and large blue eyes.

I back away from her. “Sorry, ma’am.”

She crosses her arms across her chest. “Yes, you should be,” she says in a clipped tone heavy with a French accent.

“It was an accident,” I reply in a less friendly way. “I didn’t see you.” Head or not, between being ignored earlier and my all-around crappy day, I’m about out of patience.

“I was referring to that display in there,” she says raising her chin at the gym. “Why did you not finish him when you had the chance?” She apparently watched the fight and must have seen when I let Shawn get up. “You should never hold back your strengths. If you do, you may die.”

We were just training, working out. It’s not like we were in a real fight. Even though I’m annoyed with her overreaction, I nod and give her the respect I should. “I’m sorry, ma’am. I would have done better had I known you were watching.”

She drops her voice to a whisper, and raises a perfectly waxed brow, “Dear Jade, you are always being watched,” she smiles slyly. “Analyzed. Your actions may affect more than just you.” She turns and walks away, leaving me with an uneasy feeling. I’ll be more than glad when the Heads leave.



Author Bio:

Leona Nation lives in Chandler, Arizona, with her husband, four kids, cat and dog. Her imagination often got her into trouble in her school years, but she finally realized she could put her imagination to good use by creating worlds of her own. She loves to write, read, travel, bake, binge-watch shows, and anything else she can do to avoid her true nemesis: house cleaning. When she’s not writing, she’s taking kids to football, volleyball, dance, horseback riding, helping with homework assignments (unless it’s math, then she’s useless), and saying the word no way too often—as is the job of a parent. She loves that her husband of seventeen years can still make her heart skip with just a kiss.

Facebook


GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1