Labels

Showing posts with label hobby and craft reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label hobby and craft reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, November 26, 2019

CUCUBLUE Oil Pastels



This set of 12 oil pastel crayons from CUCUBLUE comes in a nice plastic case. There are 12 crayons in highly pigmented colors. The colors go from light to dark depending on the pressure you use on the crayon. The are safe and non toxic. They are oil based crayons. They are CE & ASTM approved. Unlike some oil bases crayons these are quite stiff, they do not bend in your hand while using them.

To me they do have a bit of a waxy build up if you go over the area to many times. But they are great for rubbing with your finger for excellent shading. They colors do mix well to make other colors.

I like the plastic box, it has ridges inside to keep the crayons in their place. The lid of the box has a nice plastic clip to lock it when the crayons are not in use. The lock keeps the crayons safe inside and they do not spill out during storage. The crayons are about 3 inches long and about 6/10's of a inch wide, bigger around then a pencil, .



These are good for kids and beginning artists. They would make a nice gift as well.


Friday, November 1, 2019

Leather Travel Journal Daily Notebook by ONLVAN




Leather Travel Journal Daily Notebook by ONLVAN
This is a super nice PU Leather notebook. It comes with 80 sheets of paper for 160 pages of writing space. The pages are interchangeable. Which means when you fill it up you can buy replacement paper. You could buy the lined or unlined papers, calendar packs, colored papers and more, and still be able to use this beautiful notebook for years to come. The paper that comes with the notebook is unlined so you can doodle, ad photos, or just write your daily thoughts.

The notebook is 6.3 x 9.3 and the paper is 5.6 x 8.2. I love the engraved maple leaf design on the cover and the pretty leaf charm attached to the closure string. The handmade PU leather even has the scent of leather slightly. The quality is so nice you can hardly tell tell it is PU. This truely is a beautiful notebook. It would make a great gift for anyone, male or female. This is great for anyone of any age, and would be a cherished gift.

It even comes with a super nice bookmark. The bookmark I received has birds on it. It has Cutouts of the birds like stencils, so you could trace inside the birds to add to the beauty of your pages. There is also a ruler down the side of the bookmark. 
I either received this product for free or at a discounted price and have chosen to leave this honest and unbiased review.

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

RoWood Mechanical Gear Treasure Box - 3D Wooden Puzzle


RoWood has brought us one of the coolest 3D puzzles I have seen. This set makes and actual working treasure box with a key to open it with. The set has 123 wooden puzzle pieces. Everything you need is included with the set. There is no sawing or glue needed. The pieces are precut into wood sheets you just gently pop them out as needed. Each piece is marked with a letter number combination so you know you have the right piece to place. If you pop all of the pieces out you will be lost as the letter number combination is marked on the throw away part of the wood.

Included are the small dowel pins, rubber bands, and sandpaper. There is also a very detailed instruction manual. It is written in English and has a picture for each part showing the part and placement.

When the box is completed, there is a rotary knob on the front. This is a combination lock and you get to choose and set the pass code yourself.

The pieces are all natural wood. If you choose to paint or stain I personally would do this first and make sure it is completely dry before putting the puzzle together. As there are moving parts it may not work if it is sticky.

This would make a great gift for a teenager or adult. I think it would be too complex for a child. Some pieces are small so not recommended for small children.




I either received this product for free or at a discounted price and have chosen to leave this honest and unbiased review.




Monday, September 30, 2019

Scrapbook Photo Album with Black Paper Pages by HLFeng




This awesome Scrapbook Photo Album with Black Paper Pages by HLFeng is great for anyone  who loves scrapbooking, DIY, and photography.

This book is 7. 7 inches square and 1 inch thick counting the large metal spring binder. There are 20 pieces of thick black craft paper or a total of usable 40 pages. You can also decorate the inside of the front and back covers. These black pages are great for using metallic markers, using light colored papers, stickers, and more. The album also comes with 2 sheets of brightly colored photo corner stickers. The cover on this book is a thick heavy duty cardboard. The wire binding is thick and strong, it will not bend easily link on a wire bound notebook.

There are so many ways you could decorate and make this book your own. It would make a great gift both empty and filled.  This would be awesome for saving memories of a birthday party, a birth, any holiday, and for me it will be a wedding for my daughter. I am going to give it to her blank and let her fill it anyway she likes, with her favorite wedding pictures and little souvenirs from her wedding.


Friday, May 31, 2019

Weaving with Little Handmade Looms Harumi Kageyama



I love crafting. I love making things. I love being creative. I am always willing to try something new in crafts. Weaving is something new to me. When I was a kid I had one of the looms with the stretchy bands that you make pot holders out of but that was years ago. Although it is kind of the same thing it is totally different as well. This book shows 25 projects with homemade looms. There are step by step illustrations and written instructions.  A lot of these projects are easy enough to let the kids help. You will need to supervise though as a on some of the looms the pegs are very sharp. You can make some really cute things with this book from bracelets to draw string bags. A lot of the items for the looms will probably already be in your craft room. These for the most part are all pretty easy to accomplish. I personally love how pretty the button covers are.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com and chose to leave this review.

Thursday, May 30, 2019

The Little Book of Rock Painting by F. Sehnaz Bac



This book is awesome. I love to paint and painting rocks is all the rage at the moment. This book is filled with tips, tricks, and step by step instruction for creating beautiful painted rocks. It also has templates at the back of the book and practice pages after each section. The book is more of geometric designs and dots but the pictures look stunning. The book is filled with step by step brightly colored photos as well as the instructions. This really is a great book if you are interested in learning to paint rocks or really anything for that matter, just because it is a rock painting book does not mean the designs can only be painted on rocks. It's also a great book to give you fresh ideas to paint.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com and chose to leave this review.

Saturday, April 13, 2019

Tilda Hot Chocolate Sewing by Tone Finnanger

5*
If you like sewing or just want to see how crafty you are this book is for you. There are several sewing projects with step by step directions and pictures of the finished project in this book. There are projects for everyone from beginners to Old Pro's. These projects will make great items to set around your house or even to give as gifts. There are patterns for every projects. The instructions are easy to follow and the pictures are awesome.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com and chose to leave this review.

Artful Alphabets Joanne Sharpe

I love arts and crafts. I am very crafty and can design and make just about anything but I suck at art. I can't draw a straight line with a ruler. This book has 55 wonderful and artistic Alphabets to draw. The go from super easy to some I personally will probably never try. These are all amazing and super cute and will work for pretty much any project I can come up with. There are step by step instructions to help along the way.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com and chose to leave this review.

Sunday, April 7, 2019

Crafty Makes: Nature Craft by Fiona Hayes

5*

I love doing crafts and have shown the kids how much fun creating can be. This book is filled with 40 easy to follow crafts and the best part is most of the items can be found in the back yard. The craft supplies come  in the form of rocks, pine cones, leaves, twigs, and other natural things. Each project has easy to follow written and illustrated step by step directions. These crafts are great for kids of all ages. Even us adults will have fun with them.

Thanks netgalley for letting me read this book.

Thursday, January 17, 2019

She Sheds Style by Erika Kotite


Not only have I been graced with my own shed I also have my own room inside of the house. My she room is my craft room and I pretty much have it fixed the way I want it. My shed on the other hand is my husbands old Man cave. He built himself a 2 car garage and gave me his old shed. It has a nice work bench, lots of shelves, and a great work table. It does have 3 windows as well. But it is filthy. With years of working on the motorcycles and cars I am not sure it will ever be cleaned.

I have moved my candle making stuff to the shed, as well as some storage bins I didn't want in the house anymore but didn't want to get lost in one of the other sheds in our yard. I have not decided what to do with this shed to spruce it up and brighten it up. After looking through this book I have found so many ideas that now I can't decide which way to go with it still yet. I would see something I loved then turn a page or 2 and find something else.

This book will give you some great ideas and you can incorporate more than one. If you narrow down what you want.

Awesome book and it will overload you with tons of ideas that will work with any she shed or even a she room.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com and chose to leave this review.

Kawaii Doodle Cuties Pic Candle, Zainab Khan


This book is filled with little doodles from around the world that you can learn to draw yourself. I was personally not blessed with the ability to draw. I cannot make a straight line even with a ruler, but I have always wanted to be able to draw. This easy to follow book with step by step instructions and pictures even had me drawing some of the doodles and if I may so myself they looked pretty good.

This book is great for anyone interested in doodling. From beginners to full on doodle artists. The doodles are all adorable. They are broken down into sections as well. Things like foods, places, and other things.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com and chose to leave this review.

Friday, December 14, 2018

Enchanting Yuletide: A Multi-Author Anthology








Enchanting Yuletide: A Multi-Author Anthology
Jena Baxter, Raven Williams, Ellie Lieberman, Barb Lieberman, Guy Donovan, CK Brewer


Genre: Holiday / Fantasy


Publisher: Pipe and Thimble








Date of Publication: November 15th, 2017

ASIN: B076LLT6JD

Number of pages: 184

Word Count:

Cover Artist: Raven Williams

Tagline: Tis the Season for Magic

Book Description:

Six stories of the holiday season, guaranteed to put you in a festive mood. So, grab your hot chocolate and snuggle up to experience the season as you've never done before. After all, tis the Season for Magic!







About the Author Raven Williams

A prolific writer, Raven began her career in 2010 with a blog and non-fiction, then moving to fiction in 2014, when she began Elven-Jumper, the first book in the Realm.

Jumper Chronicles. She now has 30 books to her name, spanning the Realm Jumper Chronicles, Raven’s Twisted Classics, and the Demon Stones Saga, as well as her non-fiction, with more planned.

When Raven is not writing, she is creating art in the form of abstract paintings, fractal designs, and jewelry pieces that tie into her stories. She is also a caregiver for a disabled family member and two cats. She physically resides in the Northwest Florida Panhandle, but spends most of her time mentally in her Mystic Realms.

Will you join her?

Sign-up for Raven’s Newsletter here: https://mysticrealmscurioshop.com/newsletter-sign-up


Raven’s Mystic Realms FB Page: https://www.facebook.com/mysticrealmscurioshop/






About the Author Jena Baxter

A prolific writer, Jena Baxter creates characters with depth and stories filled with action, emotion, and a little bit of romance. She loves building fantastical worlds and cultures.

Living in Northern California with her husband, Jena enjoys soapmaking, her pets, and writer's conferences. She also reads for a screenwriting contest on an annual basis.








Guest  Post:
I love special soaps and toiletries and sugar scrubs
are on the top of my list. There are all kinds. Some require special attention,
and others are downright easy. I don’t recommend the traditional oil and sugar,
unless you want to slip and slide, then spend the day cleaning your tub. I
think this one is much better, and the ingredients are easy to find. They make
great gifts too.

Homemade
Glycerin Soap Sugar Scrub Cubes

Once you have all your ingredients together prepare
to work fast.

The first thing you need is a glycerin melt and pour
soap base. Most craft stores carry it. Michael’s now carries some great
detergent-free bases

You’ll also need a skin friendly oil. Fractionated
coconut oil is a great choice and can be found in your supermarket. Sweet
almond oil, avocado or olive oil will work well too. Macadamia is wonderful,
but not as easy to find.

A SKIN SAFE scent and colorant if you want them.
They will be available in the area you find the glycerin soap. Read the label,
they MUST be skin safe. Don’t use candle colorant. Choose a nice fragrance for
the season. Peppermint, pumpkin, cookies, or gingerbread.

Sugar – Sugar can have large or small grains. For
this recipe, I use regular white granulated sugar. For a face soap, I would
probably use brown sugar. For a foot soap, I’d use demerara sugar, because the
granules are larger.

You will also need a mold. No need to run out and
buy one for this recipe however. You can use a silicon mold or ice tray, or a
sanitized milk carton cut to size; the box quarts are pretty perfect. Line it
with saran wrap. You want the mold to give, so you can push the scrub out once
it’s set. If you use the milk carton, you can carefully rip the paper off.


To
make your Sugar Scrub

½
Cup Oil

1
Cup Melt and Pour base

2
Cups plus Sugar

Use
drops or a half teaspoon to get the fragrance you want. Be cautious not to use
more than necessary because even skin safe fragrance can be harsh on your skin.
1 teaspoon per pound of soap base is the limit.



Instructions:
Have your mold ready before you start and remember to work fast.

Melt your soap base on very low heat. A double
boiler is good, or you can microwave it in 30 second pulses. I use 30 seconds to
start and stir. If I need more time, I do 15 second pulses. You don’t want it
to get too hot, because soap can burn.

When the base is completely melted, pour into a
large bowl, add your oil. Mix well.

Add your colorant one drop at a time until you get
the shade you want but use as little as possible; too much colorant can stain
washcloths. Mix well

Add up to a half teaspoon of fragrance. Mix well.

Add your sugar and mix fast; You don’t want it to
harden on you.  You want to pour it as
soon as possible. When it’s incorporated pour it into your mold. If it’s too
thick, spoon it in and press it down.
Once the soap is set. (I’d give it at least a couple
of hours. I leave mine overnight). Carefully remove it from the mold, placing
it onto a plate, or anything oil can’t seep through, because there is always
some oil that seeps out of the soap. Work gently because the scrub will be
crumbly.

Carefully cut it into 1-1 ½ inch squares.

If there is a lot of leftover oil, I cover and leave
it, so it can soak some of that up. There will usually be seeping oil.

Your sugar scrub soap is finished and ready to
package. You can use cellophane wraps or jars, label it, and add trinkets or
bows to the top. Be creative. Just remember to use something the oil can’t seep
through. I also place a note on the label telling people to be careful in the
shower or tub, because oils can make it slippery.

Instructions: Break off a piece from the cube. Scrub
an area until the sugar is gone. Rinse well, and pat dry. It usually takes one
or two cubes per shower.

Have fun with it. Once you’ve tried these, I think
you’ll be addicted.

WARNING:
If someone is allergic to a food product, (Like nuts, avocados, etc.) they will
be allergic to the oils produced by that item as well.



Monday, September 3, 2018

My Halloween DIY Projects




I made these 3 projects all with Dollar Tree items except the spray paint on the candy dishes. I found videos for all 3 projects on Youtube. I had so much fun making these, and cannot wait to display them next month. 


 I'm getting crafty this Summer with #Smiley360! #SmileyDIY #ad

Monday, August 13, 2018

#Lasten Sketch Book, 2 Pack of A3 and A4 (Rabbit Cover)



I got the Lasten Sketch Book, 2 Pack of A3 and A4 Art Drawing Paper Pad for Kids & Adults for my son in law who did art in high school and college. He really liked it. I tried it as well but he mostly told me about it since I don’t have full knowledge of the different types of paper.

This product worked great for him to sketch with pencil and charcoal which is what he manly uses. I tried it to see if any other art supplies would leak I was pleasantly surprised I used marker, permanent marker, pencil, highlighter, and ink pen. The only one that leaked through was permanent but just barely.

The A4 which is the smaller book (its 11.4"x 8.3") is a little thicker than computer paper. The A3 is 16.5"x 11.4" is a little thicker than the A4. This product works great for pencils, charcoals, markers, watercolor, and crayons.

One feature I really like is that the drawling pads has along with its metal spirals a handle which would be great to hang it up so it’s not just laying around. My son in law actually put a hook up on the wall to hold it so there dogs can’t mess with it along with other common accidents including accidental spilling and just losing it in general.

It is a pure white paper and lightly textured which is good for things like pencil and charcoal along with others. They have 4 different fronts you can choose from a bird, a fox (although it looks like a cat to me) a wolf and the rabbit which I received, each page is perforated which is good if you want to frame and hang your piece of art.


I received this product for free or  at a discounted price in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

Saturday, August 11, 2018

Improper Cross Stitch by Haley Pierson-Co



A fun, witty, nerdy, and irreverent craft book for the modern cross-stitcher.

Sometimes it's good to be a little..improper. Profane, funny, and smart, Haley Pierson-Cox's THE IMPROPER CROSS STITCH invites the modern crafter to bring personality and humor to their cross stitch projects. From a fully designed "Damn it feels good to be a crafter" to the beautiful Art Deco inspired "fuck," Haley's patterns are fresh, lively and just what the crafter ordered.

In this book, she'll introduce readers to the joys of stitching the naughty, the profane, the irreverent, and the just plain awesome. First, she starts with a basic lesson in cross-stitch technique, no previous experience required. Then, once readers know your way around an embroidery hoop and a skein of floss, the books moves on to the designs―35 in total, ranging from hip, to nerdy, to ironically domestic―where Haley encourages crafters to embrace their inner snark with gleeful abandon.

Her easy to follow instructions and colorful designs can make a cross stitcher out of anyone. In all her years of crafting, Haley's learned many things, but this simple fact remains one of the most important: There is absolutely nothing in this world quite so satisfying as enshrining something deeply inappropriate within the delicate stitches of a cross-stitch sampler. It's truly one of life's great delights




My Review: 5*

I received a preview copy of this book. For the few patterns Included in the review they were cute and different from anything else I have seen in the cross stitch world. I would of loved it if they hd of added the cover pattern.

Included in the book are several tips to making cross stitch seem easier, as well has shopping tips, and a index of the tools of the trade. With each pattern there is a full color picture of the finished design, a full color pattern, and a list of the floss needed to complete the project as pictured.

I would loved to have been given the full book but since I wasn't I will just have to keep my eye out for in my local craft store or online. The full book features 35 patterns of naughty, funny, and improper patterns.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.



 Author's Bio:
HALEY PIERSON-COX is a designer and craft writer with a focus on fabric  and fiber crafts, including sewing, needlework, knitting, crochet, and  geek crafts. Her work has been featured in craft books and magazines,  and her writing can be spotted on DIY sites across the creative  internet. On her website, redhandledscissors.com, she shares craft  tutorials and printable patterns, along with a healthy dose of  gleefully-delivered snark. When she's not crafting, her main hobbies  include making spreadsheets, organizing things very neatly, speaking to  her cat as though he’s a person, and mining the pages old books for  antique expletives. Haley Pierson-Cox looks way crankier than she  actually feels. No, seriously. It's totally fine to come over and say  hello!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Lasten Dual Tip Brush Pens Art Markers with Flexible Brush Tip (24 Cols/12 Pcs)




I love these dual tipped pens. There are 24 colors and only have to keep track of 12 pens. The colors are very bright and vibrant. They come in a recloseable plastic container to keep them all together. These are brush ti pens and the tips are flexible. The tips are 1 to 4mm. These pens have Water-based Ink they are also Odorless and acid-free.

I really love that they are dual tipped with a corresponding color on both ends. Meaning they have a darker color at one end a lighter color at the other end. The yellow one for instance is bright yellow at one end and a pastel or light yellow at the other. The black is grey at the other end.

They did not bleed through copy paper. You could see a darker impression through copy paper but the ink did not bleed all the way through. On thicket paper I could not see the ink impression at all.

These pens are great for kids adult, planner , coloring books, drawings, doodle, manga comic art, journal lines, note sketch book, bible notes, calendar,crafting and DYI projects at home or school. Pretty much anything you would want to add a bit of color to.

The pen caps have a safety feature of a small air hole in the cap in case a child would get them in their mouth. The hole prevents helps choking and allows air through if they were to be swallowed.


#Lasten

I received this product for free or  at a discounted price in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

Friday, July 6, 2018

JTDOT 18 Pack Wood Rectangle Small Chalkboards




This set of 18 Wood rectangle chalkboards are the small size. They are 3 inches tall by 4 inches wide. They come with a 2 piece stand you just slide together. These are great for adding to tables at weddings, birthday parties, reunions, actually any type of party or get together. They are great for numbering tables when sing a seating arrangement. They would also would work great for a buffet as well, you could write the food name on each one.

The set comes with 18 mini chalkboards. Each chalkboard and stand are individually wrapped to protect the fronts of the chalkboards. It comes with a small chalkboard eraser made out of a sponge and a stick of white chalk. I wrote on the one chalkboard and used the eraser dry to erase it and it did not work. I had to wet the eraser to get the board cleaned. The chalkboard is one of the stickers on top of the wood it is not painted one. I do not mean this in a bad way at all, the writing will not get smudged off until we are ready to take it off. These will be placed on the tables at my daughters wedding coming up very soon.

Check it out on Amazon

#minichalkboard #partydecorations #party #decorations #Wedding 

I received this product for free or at a discounted price in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.



Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Big Book of Weekend Beading by Jean Power



This is a great book for everyone, beginners and seasoned beaders as well. The first part of the book explains beading in full. Everything from tools, types, tips, materials and more. Then you get over 30 projects with step by step easy to follow instructions. The projects in the book are great for jewelry, clothing, and more. All of the projects are made to be complete over a weekend.

I love all of the different beading projects. Some are made from string and small beads some are large beads and wire. The book is great to make projects as listed or you can even add your own twists to the project. These projects are great for making and giving as gifts as well.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.


Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Foam Crafts for Kids by Suzanne McNeil



Summer is here and the kids are out of school. Mine are running around yelling I'm bored, a lot!! Foam Craft for kids features over 100 projects for the kids to make. Foam sheets are available in so many different stores and they are cheap. Our Dollar tree even sells them by the packs of several sheets as well as stickers and shapes.  This book is great for kids of all ages and even us adults can have fun with this book.

The thing I really like about this book is is get the imagination flowing and the kids can create these projects their way and also come up with some new projects on their own. Who knew few foam sheets and bottle of glue could save Mom's sanity?

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.

Monday, June 18, 2018

How to Draw Almost Everything for Kids by Naoko Sakamoto



This book is great for kids, but even adults could use this book for learning how to draw. I am not at all an artist. I can't draw a straight line with a ruler. i love how this book shows you what you will be drawing then you gives you spaces to trace over their lighter lines, then blank spaces for you to practice. Heck even I was able to draw with this book.

The book is broken down into sections like : faces, food, everyday things, icons, animals and more. It gives you coloring patterns, color schemes, different types of pens and more. Like I said this boo is great for kids and adults alike.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.