Labels

Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts

Sunday, July 14, 2019

Lacewood: A Novel of Time and Place by Jessica James


5*
Jessica James had me from page one with this book. I loved everything about this book the couple of ghost sightings, the genealogy, the shadows of the past, the mystery, the friendship, the healing ETC

The story is described so clearly you can see everything in your minds eye as if you are actually there. The book was not overly described with useless descriptions f people, places, and things that lend nothing to the story. I personally really appreciate that.

Reluctant New York socialite Katie McCain decides to take a detour on a return trip from Washington DC home to New York. Her Grandmother passed away several years ago when Katie was a teenager. Katie remembers spending time with hr Grandmother as the happiest time in her young life. While on the detour Katie runs across Lacewood Mansion in the middle of nowhere. The Mansion and grounds are abandoned and over grown, but something about the place beckons to Katie and impulsively she buys it.

Katie decides to restore the home and do as much as possible by herself. A she beings she starts finding clues from thee past of the family who lived there 150 years before. The more
she discovers about the family the more she feels at home in  Lacewood.

This is where we meet hometown hero Will Durham. Home from the war with a bit of PTSD and a lots of remorse after not being able to save his best friend. Will is sullen and hard to read for Katie but he decides to help her with restore the house if he can live in the caretakers cabin. Katie agrees. This is also where the love story begins.

The book is broken down into 3 parts. Part 1 is the build up to the love story. Part 2 is Annie's story. Annie is the past owner. Than Part 3 is the end of the book and the culmination of the first 2 parts and their love story.

The Outlaw MC: Bad Boy Blake The Outlaw MC: Bad Boy Blake by Tanya Colt 3.39 avg rating — 217 ratings published 2014 After going through a divorce, Melissa turns her life upside down. Leaving for a new city and a new life, she meets Blake. Bad boy Blake. He’s a young, dominant biker and is ready to show Melissa a li ...more Preview by Tanya Colt


3*
This book took less than a 1/2 hour to read. Which I did not realize when I decided to read the book, My on fault. I love MC based books but this one left me flat. It was very rushed so I did not have time to connect with the characters at all. The book is named Bad Boy Blake, being as the book is named for him you would think you would get back story on him but no. The book is written from Melisa's side, you do get a bit of her back story.

There are 2 sex parts in this book. Thy are hot and very graphic. I have to say I would not of handled the 2nd scene like Melisa did at all I would of killed Blake personally.

If you want a quick hot read grab this book. You could be through it before your lunch break ends.

Saturday, July 13, 2019

Blind Walls by Conrad Bishop & Elizabeth Fuller


3*
I have a lot of mixed feeling about this book. I can't say that I really liked it but I didn't not like it either. It is a strange book. The story line is very slow moving. It is not the typical haunted house and ghost story either. It is a bit confusing at times too. The timeline in the book bounces all over and some things just don't mix. One example is Chuck. Mrs. Weatherlee (the owner of the house) passed away in 1922, Chuck (a newly hired construction worker) meets her on his first day on the job, but yet his time in the house is in the 1970's or 80's, with a paycheck of $600 a week for a construction worker which is not conceivable until into the the 21st century. I personally know many construction worker's who make no where near $600 a week today. 

The book is also a kind of adaptation to the real Winchester house. The Weatherlee Mansion is a huge sprawling mansion with many rooms, with stairways and doors that go no where. Mrs. Weatherlee's husband and young daughter passed away and a spiritualist advised her that the only way she would continue living is to continue to build onto the house. Sound familiar?

The main character of the book Raymond Smollet. The story is written with his narration of his life and career as a tour guide through the Weatherlee Mansion. Raymond is also totally blind. This is his last tour before retirement. As he is taking his brood as he calls them through the house he is gifted with second site. As he goes into the rooms he sees images of Mrs. Weatherlee as well as other people like the construction crew and Mrs. Weatherlee's niece/secretary and hears their conversations. All the while going through his tour spiel without missing a beat. Personally I would be speechless and unable to continue the tour.

In my honest opinion while this is not a terrible book, I don't see myself running out and buying copies of this book for my friends and family. It was a hard read and did not hold my attention very well either. I found myself struggling to get through this book honestly.  

Tuesday, July 9, 2019

The Ultimate Halloween Party Planner By Roxanne Rhoads


The Ultimate Halloween Party Planner
By Roxanne Rhoads

Publisher: Bewitching Books

ISBN-10: 1095658379
ISBN-13: 978-1095658376

Genre: Halloween, Parties, Event Planner

Book Description:

Do you want to plan a Halloween party but you have no idea where to start?

Are you in the midst of planning a party but can't stay organized?

The Ultimate Halloween Party Planner is exactly what you need.

Filled with Halloween party tips and ideas, a party planning timeline and checklist, a budget sheet, a guest list chart, to do lists, monthly calendars, weekly to do lists, lined notebook pages, blank sketch pages, recipe pages, craft pages, costume planning pages, and more- this planner has everything you need to plan a Halloween party your guests will never forget.





My Review:
I love Halloween. It is my favorite holiday. I love all the decorations and the fun. I love the parties too. Roxanne Rhoads has done a fabulous job with this book. It is not just a book that tells you how to have a great Halloween it is more like a work book. There are tips and tricks, tons of ideas for decorating, foods, and everything Halloween, But the book is also filled with pages you can write out your plans or better yet print the pages and then reuse the book for years to come. There are pages filled with guest lists, game ideas, recipe cards and more that you can write your plans on to insure the perfect party. 
I love how the books takes you step by step through the party planning but still lets you be the boss of your own party. There is even a calendar to keep you on track to make sure everything is done with as little stress as possible. 
The book was written for Halloween but with just a few changes you could plan any type of party using this book and the tips inside. This book is so useful everyone should grab a copy. 




About the Author:

Roxanne Rhoads is an author, book publicist, mixed media crafter, and lover of all things spooky.

Roxanne is the owner of Bewitching Book Tours, a virtual book tour and social media marketing company, she operates Fang-tastic Books, a book blog dedicated to paranormal and urban fantasy books, and she runs the blog, A Bewitching Guide to All Things Halloween, which is dedicated to everything Halloween related. Roxanne’s sells handcrafted jewelry, art and home decor through Bewitching Creations.

When not reading or writing, Roxanne loves to craft, plan Halloween adventures, and search for unique vintage finds.

A Bewitching Guide to All Things Halloween https://allthingshalloweenguide.blogspot.com/ 

Author Website http://www.roxannerhoads.com  


Bewitching Book Tours www.bewitchingbooktours.com  








Sunday, July 7, 2019

Brick by ML Nystrom



Title: Brick
Author:  ML Nystrom
Series: Dragon Runners, book 5
Genre: MC Romance
Release Date: July 6, 2019
Cover Designer: Booksmith Design
 Add to TBR
Available now!
All other links: books2read.com/brick
In the beginning, there was one determined man and one strong woman. In their struggles, they created a dynasty.

Brick had one mission since he was a boy: become a Dragon Runner.  The motorcycle club meant everything to him. Blood and bone from his brothers paid the Dragon’s dues time and time again. And watching it split apart was more than he could handle. 

Then he met Betsey.

An unwanted daughter born into abuse, Betsy lived her life beatdown under a rigid thumb, never allowed to be herself.  Her one goal was to leave her abusive family and be free.  She fought on the losing end of that fight.

Then she met Brick. 


Brick is the Prequel to the Dragon Runner series  and also book 5  by ML Nystrom. I have not read any of the series or any other books by ML Nystrom but that will be changing. I love reading MC books and this one is kind of my own romance. I am the preachers daughter married the biker. The only difference which is a huge difference is my biker is not a 1%er and my daddy wasn't a drunk. This is actually one of the more mellow MC books it is filled with language, but very little violence and no sex. The book is very fast moving and is not filled with descriptions of things that has nothing to do with the story. This is a short read but packed full. 

The book is the story of Brick and Betsey. It starts out when they first lay eyes on each other in middle school but did not speak again until the night of their high school graduation. Betsey has a hard abusive life as her father the Preacher of the Methodist Church is also a drunk who beats his wife and daughter. He takes her tip money from her job at the diner and treats her like crap. Brick is the son of the current President of the Dragon Runner MC and waiting to be patched into the club. When all heck breaks loose and Club members turn on each other it is up to Brick to clean up the blood and try to put the club back together. 




* * *
The Dragon Runners Series

Mute
(book 1)

Stud

(book 2)


Blue

(book 3)

books2read.com/blueMC



Table

(book 4)

books2read.com/table




I've had stories in my head since I was a child.  All sorts of stories of fantasy, romance, mystery and anything else that captured my interest.  I'm a voracious reader, and have spent many hours in my life devouring books, therefore it's only fitting I should write a few myself!  

I've spent most of my life as a performing musician and band instrument repair technician, but that doesn't mean I'm pigeon-holed into one mold.  I've been a university professor, belly dancer, craftsperson, soap maker, singer, rock band artist, jewelry maker, lifeguard, swim coach, and whatever else I feel like exploring.  As one of my students said to me once, "Life's too short to ignore the opportunities."   I have no intention of ever stopping so welcome to my story world.  I hope you enjoy it!




a Rafflecopter giveaway



 Riding the Lines Submissions

Saturday, July 6, 2019

Brick by ML Nystrom

Title: Brick
Series: Dragon Runner (prequel)
Author: ML Nystrom
Genre: Contemporary Romance; Romantic Suspense
Release Date: July 6, 2019
Cover Designer: Booksmith Design

In the beginning, there was one determined man and one strong woman. In their struggles, they created a dynasty.

Brick had one mission since he was a boy: become a Dragon Runner. The motorcycle club meant everything to him. Blood and bone from his brothers paid the Dragon’s dues time and time again. And watching it split apart was more than he could handle.

Then he met Betsey.

An unwanted daughter born into abuse, Betsy lived her life beatdown under a rigid thumb, never allowed to be herself. Her one goal was to leave her abusive family and be free. She fought on the losing end of that fight.

Then she met Brick.




A tentative knock followed by the wooden classroom door opening caught his attention. Mr. Atwood, the school principal, entered, followed by a new girl. A wave ran through the room as every student sat up straight to get a look at the newcomer. She wore a mud-colored dress that did little to hide an impressive chest and rounded hips. Her plain brown hair was pulled back into a long ponytail, and she hunched into herself as she met the twenty pairs of eyes fixed on her.
“We have a new student, Betsey Fullerton. She and her family just moved here from Mineral Springs, and her father is the head minister at First Methodist Church. Let’s everyone welcome Betsey and help her learn her way around.”
Several “Hi, Betseys” popped up from multiple students, but Deuce’s comment rang out over them all.
“Damn, look at the size of them titties. Betcha can shelve books on them things.”
The room went silent. The principal turned beet red but said nothing. Blackjack’s reputation was well known, and no one wanted to anger either him or any of the other Dragon Runners.
But Betsey was new. She didn’t know the town or the motorcycle club that many of them feared. Her blue eyes lasered to the back of the room and landed on Brick’s. The zap from that look held him in place and burned through to his toes. She wasn’t scared. She wasn’t confused. She understood exactly what was uttered and why. Her expression was one of… of… contempt.
Betsey’s gaze moved to Deuce, who was laughing at his own joke. She straightened up to her above-average height, and her perfect hourglass figure became clearer even in the ugly dress. Her breasts were full and larger than most other girls of the same age. The dress nipped in sharply at the waist and flared out over her curvy hips. Brick had overheard more than one conversation from girls talking about the right skirts, the right shoes, or the right hairstyle. Betsey stood out proudly and with no apology for her less-than-fashionable appearance. She cocked a hip to the side, crossed her arms under her breasts, lifting and displaying them even more, and stared down at the laughing cocky boy with the shiner on his eye.
Brick lost his breath at the picture she presented. He reached over and popped his friend in the back of his head. “Shut up, dumbass.”
“What the fuck, asshole? I’m just messin’.”

“Mess with someone else. That girl is gonna be mine someday.”

My Review
Brick is the Prequel to the Dragon Runner series  and also book 5  by ML Nystrom. I have not read any of the series or any other books by ML Nystrom but that will be changing. I love reading MC books and this one is kind of my own romance. I am the preachers daughter married the biker. The only difference which is a huge difference is my biker is not a 1%er and my daddy wasn't a drunk. This is actually one of the more mellow MC books it is filled with language, but very little violence and no sex. The book is very fast moving and is not filled with descriptions of things that has nothing to do with the story. This is a short read but packed full. 

The book is the story of Brick and Betsey. It starts out when they first lay eyes on each other in middle school but did not speak again until the night of their high school graduation. Betsey has a hard abusive life as her father the Preacher of the Methodist Church is also a drunk who beats his wife and daughter. He takes her tip money from her job at the diner and treats her like crap. Brick is the son of the current President of the Dragon Runner MC and waiting to be patched into the club. When all heck breaks loose and Club members turn on each other it is up to Brick to clean up the blood and try to put the club back together. 








ML Nystrom had stories in her head since she was a child. All sorts of stories of fantasy, romance, mystery and anything else that captured her interest. A voracious reader, she’s spent many hours devouring books; therefore, she found it only fitting she should write a few herself!

ML has spent most of my life as a performing musician and band instrument repair technician, but that doesn’t mean she’s pigeon-holed into one mold. She’s been a university professor, belly dancer, craftsperson, soap maker, singer, rock band artist, jewelry maker, lifeguard, swim coach, and whatever else she felt like exploring. As one of her students said to her once, “Life’s too short to ignore the opportunities.” She has no intention of ever stopping… so welcome to her story world. She hopes you enjoy it!




HOSTED BY:

Friday, July 5, 2019

Forever My Own by Raven Featherwood

Title: Forever My Own
Series: Road Warriors MC Book One
Author: Raven Featherwood
Genre: Contemporary MC Romance
Release Date: June 18, 2019
Cover Design: Enticing Journey Designs








Wendy’s Book Blog - “Intense & intriguing story!!”


Beyond the Covers Blog - “Omygosh!! Forever My Own, Cat and Fox's love story gutted me!”

Red Hatter Book Blog - “And a huge round of applause to Raven Featherwood for showing what a stand up person she is with her debut. I’m looking forward to reading her future work.”



FOX:
The minute I met CATRIONA I was lost. Her beauty and innocence called to me like a siren. There was a place inside of me that I didn’t know existed, a place just waiting to be filled with her light, her caring, her heart. But, with one miscommunication, one failed connection, I lost it all, hell I lost more than I even realized.

Until four years later when my entire world came crashing down on me, in the form of a precocious three-year-old pixie named Felicity. I will get my family back, I will earn the trust of the only woman to ever touch my heart.

But, as quickly as I start to see a possible happily ever after for my little family, it is all gone, she is gone. See, I am a member of the Road Warrior’s MC and our enemies have my woman, and they are not known for their care of the fairer sex. Somehow, I must find her, then, find a way to help her, because being lost in that mess is sure to leave her broken.

CAT:
He was my first, my only, but he abandoned me and our child. It has taken me years, but I am better, happy even. But now he’s returning home, and I have to find peace with him. But what about our daughter, will he man up and acknowledge his daughter? After abandoning me in my pregnancy, I don’t know what to expect. 

Then, as if my troubled past wasn’t filled with enough heartache, I am dragged into a war not of my making and my life will never be the same again. 

How do you survive something like this? Will I ever be able to see my child and Fox again? After what I have become, not likely.



My Review

Forever My Own is the first book in the Road Warriors MC series by Raven Featherwood. This is also my first book by Raven but will not be my last. This book brought a lot to the table and I cannot wait to see what the rest of the series brings. The book does take you on a emotional roller coaster as well. I found my self rolling through all of the emotions. I was happy sad, mad, even shed a tear or two. This book is filled with really bad words, super hot sex, violence, rape, and a tender love story. If this is not for you skip now, but if you can handle all of that Oh wow is this an awesome book that you will not want to put down.

This book features the story of Fox and Cat. Fox is the rough and tough son of the current President of the Road Warriors MC. Cat is the daughter of a preacher. Kind of sounds like my life, I'm the preachers daughter and my husband all though not the son of the Prez is a biker. Fox and Cat meet when they are teenagers in High School. After graduation Fox heads off to the Army leaving Cat behind to wait on him. When a letter is missed by Fox and a phone call is missed by Cat, both think the other has bailed on them.
Now 4 years later Fox is headed home after being discharged from the Army. Cat has a 3 year old she is raising with the help of Fox's family, oh and by the way Fox has no idea, since he didn't get that letter.
Both Fox and Cat still love each other. if they can get past the hurt from circumstances and fate they can have it all together. Then one day Cat is taken hostage during a biker war that the RWMC didn't even know they were part of. By the time they are able to get Cat back she has been through some of the worst treatment any woman could ever imagine as the hands of her kidnappers. Now Fox has to do his best to help put herself back together in order to get their lives back on track.  







HOSTED BY: