Labels

Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Three Strikes by Allana Walker




My Review:
Three Strikes by Allana Walker is the first book in the Demon Disciples Series. It is also the first book I have read of hers. I am really not totally sure how I feel about this book as you will see in this review. Let me start with the language in this book, I never did figure out exactly where this book was set at, but by some of the language in the book I'm not sure it was set in the USA, I mean we just do not talk that way. Jake in the book does commute back and forth to New York a lot for work though. 

The book is written in first person alternating chapters. There is a chapter from Daria's prospective then one from Strikers. A few of the chapter endings and beginnings are confusing. They do come back around but they take you out of the moment when it switches between Daria and Striker. 

I guess I should add trigger warnings too. There are suicide attempts, domestic violence, actually lots of violence period. Attempted murder, murder, kidnapping, graphic sex scenes, and tons of fowl language. This is a very dark read. With a lot of the triggers happening at the hands of Striker I do not get why anyone would think these 2 are a perfect match. 

I personally did not find myself in love or even like with any of the main characters in this book. Daria seriously needs a therapist, and Striker needs a bullet between the eyes. 

In the book 17 year old Daria ends up at the Demon Disciples Clubhouse with her friend Jess who is dating one of the members. As she is trying to get away from one of the bikers who is pawing at her she runs into Striker's room. He basically rapes her.  

Later she finds out she is pregnant from that one night. She tries to tell Striker but is told to go away by another biker at the Clubhouse gate. Fast forward 10 years. Striker is out of prison, Emily the baby born from the one night stand is now 9. Daria married her best friend Jake and has passed Emily off as his since her pregnancy was confirmed, at his request. Daria and Emily run into Striker at the ice cream shop, after 1 look Striker knows she is his. This is where the story turns very dark. The things he does to Daria while demanding his right to spend time with his daughter is just almost to much to bare. If it had of been me I would of taken my daughter and been long gone. This is no where the end of this book but I do not want to give to much away. 

Everything about Daria's life seems dark and she never stands up for herself really. She allows physical violence, it's almost like she enjoys it. She would rather be beat on then to open her mouth and answer a simple question. And to keep going back to a person who has abused you so badly is just beyond my grain of thought. 

This book does end with a cliffhanger of sorts as there will be a continuation of their saga in book 2. I am not dying for this second book personally though. I just cannot fathom more of the happenings in this book in the next one. 

Saturday, June 27, 2020

New Audio Tour: Inside by D.M. Siciliano

Audiobook Tour: Inside by D.M. Siciliano

Author: D.M. Siciliano

Narrator: Marcus Rothenberg

Length: 7 hours and 26 minutes

Publisher: The Parliament House

Released: May 20, 2020

Genre: Horror


Friday, June 26, 2020

Blackheart: The Wild Ones (Jokers MC Book 1) by Jessie Cooke

Title: Blackheart: The Wild Ones
Series: Jokers MC #1
Author: Jessie Cooke
Genre: MC Romance
Release Date: May 12, 2020



Evan “Blackheart” Babineaux is a hard-working, hard-partying, playboy who has spent most of his life as the President of the infamous Jokers, a 1% MC, set deep in the swamps of New Orleans. 


Blackheart was raised in the swamps, as wild as the cattails that grow there and the alligators he'd learned to wrestle even before he was old enough to drive. 

The swamps were also where he first lay his light blue eyes on Sally, the love of his life...and a dead body that neither of them would ever be able to forget.

New Orleans is known across the nation as a melting pot of cultures, its rich Cajun culture, its music, and its non-stop party atmosphere. It's also known for its tales of voodoo, spirits, witches and vampires. 

Evan and Sally will learn at a tender age that monsters are more often human than not, and there would be two human monsters lurking in the shadows that would have a heavy hand in shaping both of their lives.

The first installment of The Jokers is the story of Evan and Sally. From two kids who knew they were soulmates, to two tangled paths that have finally come to an intersection in life. 

It's the story of two hearts that have beat as one for decades...and the one man who is hellbent on destroying it all.







Eleven-year-old Sally’s face was contorted with terror and her throat visibly vibrated with the scream she was holding back, as she reached out her hand. Twelve-year-old Evan, probably fighting harder than Sally was to control his emotions, took it. It was the first time Evan ever held hands with a girl that wasn’t his mother, or one of his sisters...but as much as he loved Sally, and he knew he was going to marry her someday...Evan also knew that this wasn’t going to be a moment either of them ever looked back on as “romantic.” What they were looking at on the ground was horrific, even for the kids who had been born and raised in the wilds of one of the least known about and most misunderstood places on earth.

Evan Babineaux and Sally Guidry were born and bred along the banks of the largest swamp in the world, the Atchafalaya. Stretching out over 1.4 million acres, and located deep in the heart of Louisiana, the Atchafalaya holds more mystery, and guards more secrets than the jungles of the Amazon. The Atchafalaya was not only home to the two children and their families, but it also housed over sixty-five species of reptiles and amphibians and over two hundred and fifty species of birds. It’s a place where panthers, black bear, bobcats, nutria, mink, fox, muskrat, beaver, otter and raccoon live in states of both harmony and war. It can be a spooky place even in the daylight when the cypress trees with knurled roots protrude just far enough above the water to throw off the sun and give the illusion of lurking predators. Or it can be mysterious at night when the symphony of sound coming off the water plays background for the feathery wisps of Spanish moss, dangling and fluttering against the black sky or under the light of a full moon, looking like a ghostly apparition, as it searches for a suitable cypress bough to call home.

Evan and Sally were children who didn’t startle easily. They knew which animals to avoid, what areas to stay out of, and even which plants they could pick to eat, and which ones might kill them if they were only to reach out and brush their fingers against the leaves. They’d been sent out at times with baskets to pick the medicinal plants that their mothers and grandmothers used to make medicine that kept them and their siblings alive, and they’d been sent out with shotguns to secure something for dinner on the eves when their daddies got too drunk after a day on the river and forgot to come home. They grew up as part of remnants of a civilization as yet untouched by the hands of the modern outside world, without things like electricity or telephones. They were the offspring of Acadians who had settled upon the rapidly sinking earth, eventually cohabitating and mating with the blacks and the whites like the French, who had come to the swamps for the same reasons the Acadians had...to live, love, and create life in a place that even the hands of time seemed unable to touch. They created families, and their own language, and their own culture, twisting and binding what they’d each brought with them until they’d created their own vibrant and colorful culture unlike any other.

The people who reared Sally and Evan, and those that came before them, weren’t rich in dollars and material things, but their souls were rich and their bodies hearty and it took a lot to rattle or even startle them...but nothing either child had seen or heard in their short time on earth had prepared them for what they’d stumbled upon that day. The silence between them was almost deafening before Sally finally said:

“Should I go get Paw Paw?”

“No.” Evan didn’t hesitate. Sally’s grandpa was the last person they needed there. Evan wouldn’t tell Sally, but like the rest of the community, he thought the old man wasn’t really right in the head. He would want to chant some black magic, voodoo bullshit that wouldn’t do any of them a lick of good. Evan knew what they needed at that moment was a grown-up with a cool head, and the only man the boy knew who fit that description to a perfect “T” was his own Paw, Jean Luc Babineaux.

“I’ll get my Paw,” he told her. Evan started to release Sally’s hand, but he felt her grip onto him tighter almost simultaneously. In a voice he usually reserved for one of his little sisters when they woke out of a nightmare he said, “It’s okay, Sal. I’m not gonna leave you. The mud’s deep here. though, so hang onto my belt loops—I’ll need my arms to get us out of here.” Evan had learned young that while walking in the bayou, upper body strength can be just as important as lower. He used his arms to reach out and grab onto the trunks or boughs of the trees that surrounded them, and use them as leverage to pull his feet out of the deep, sucking mud so he could move forward with another step. Sally clung onto him and although she was tiny, made his journey back out of the little cove they’d been exploring that much more difficult.

Evan was covered in sweat by the time they broke through the thick trees and long, tall lines of cattails, onto the dirt road that led to the river’s edge. Evan’s family home was there, situated among a dozen others. It was the place where he and all three of his sisters had been born, and his father before him, and his grandfather before that. It was small and cramped and occasionally his father had to use cement blocks to keep the front porch from dipping so far down on one side that it looked like a ramp. But it was home, and as soon as Evan saw it, some of the terror that had been digging its claws into the boy’s soul began to ebb slowly, like a tide as it left behind the soft, wet clumps of sand on the beach.

“Paw!” Evan yelled, taking Sally’s hand again and beginning to run toward the house. His father’s voice caused him to stop halfway and look toward the old boat docks.

“Evan! Come on and help me here, boy! Grab that duct tape over there.”

Evan would have told his Paw that his news was the type that couldn’t wait, if Jean Luc wasn’t at that very second straddling the broad back of what looked like a seven-foot alligator. Evan looked at Sally and mouthed, “Sorry,” before releasing her hand, grabbing the roll of silver tape off the porch railing, and running toward his dad and the ginormous reptile. Normally watching his Paw take down a gator fascinated Evan. He was in awe of the 6'6" three-hundred-pound man who could rock a baby to sleep at 2 a.m., pull in a two-hundred-pound cage of crawfish, and wrestle an alligator before the sun came up every morning. Most days Evan wanted to grow up to be just like him...Jean Luc Babineaux was King of the Bayou, and that notion made young Evan proud.

“Get ’em, boy! You gonna stand there and watch him eat me, or what?” his Paw snapped, and brought the boy out of his thoughts and back to the task at hand. Pulling about two feet of the silver tape loose from the roll, he crept closer and while his Paw continued to wrestle the behemoth, Evan wrapped the tape around its jaws, not stopping until he’d used half the roll.

“Good job!” Jean Luc said, hardly out of breath. He patted the still angry and twisting gator on its side and said, “I ought to just ride him into town now!” Evan was sure no one would be surprised if he did. His Paw had a reputation in town, so much so that the townsfolk were almost disappointed if Jean Luc walked in like a “normal” man and didn’t leave them something to talk about for days, weeks, months, or even years afterwards. Such a day was a rarity though, and even at forty years old, Jean Luc hadn’t run out of ways to shock them. “Help me get him into the cage now.” Jean Luc sometimes killed the gators he caught, and the meat was used to feed their family and many others. But other times, when he was able to get a hold of a specimen as big and pretty as the one he was riding, he took them to a “Gator Ranch,” a sanctuary that was a popular tourist destination. The gator would live out the rest of its life there on the ranch, amusing the visitors by simply lying lazily on the banks of the man-made ponds and waiting for its daily feeding. Evan felt sorrier for those than he did the ones they killed and ate. He had never been caged or fenced in, but just the thought of it made the boy feel like it was hard to breathe.

“Evan...” Sally still looked shaken, maybe even more so after watching Evan and his dad subdue the gator.

“Give me one more minute,” Evan told her. He did what Jean Luc asked, and helped him push the angry, uncooperative reptile into the large cage that Jean Luc would then load onto his boat. When that was done and the cage door locked up tightly Evan finally said, “Paw, me and Sally saw something out in the cove...”

Jean Luc looked like he was waiting for the boy to go on, and when he didn’t, Jean Luc said, “Well, I gotta get that gator delivered before dark, son, so as long as it ain’t nothing that’s gonna eat us in our sleep, I best get to it.” Evan was shaking all over, and he knew he had to tell his father...but the words were sticking in his throat and Jean Luc was already sliding the cage onto the boat when Sally finally said:

“Mr. Babineaux! There’s a lady in the cove...a dead lady, without a head.”

That froze the old man in his tracks. At last he straightened up and looked from his son to Sally and back again, taking in their faces and obviously unsure if this was a silly, albeit sick, little pre-adolescent game, or if they were in fact telling the truth. When his dark blue eyes landed on his son’s face for a second time, Evan nodded. “It’s true, Paw...it’s a naked lady, and she’s dead.”

Jean Luc frowned. “You said her head was gone?” The children nodded and still looking thoughtful he said, “Look like animals did it?”

“No, Paw, it looks like it was sliced off, and she ain’t been there too long because the animals ain’t really got to her yet.”

“Fuck me,” Jean Luc said, his expression remaining neutral. “I reckon I should go out and have a look. Can you kids show me exactly where you found her?” The children nodded, and with the gigantic alligator in tow in his cage, Jean Luc took them out toward the cove in the boat, stopping and tying it along the muddy banks when the kids told him to. The three of them climbed out and while Evan quickly led his Paw toward the spot, Sally held back, looking unwilling to see it again. Evan didn’t blame her. His rush was more about passing the responsibility of the horrible discovery onto his father and taking it off his skinny young shoulders. When they reached the spot where the part of a lady still lay, half submerged in the mud and muck, Jean Luc and Evan stood side by side, staring down at her. Seconds passed, or maybe even minutes, before once again Jean Luc said, “Fuck me. I reckon we’ll have the government up our butts now for a while.”

The government wasn’t something the Cajun people who lived in the Atchafalaya Swamp welcomed, especially into their homes. But insofar as Jean Luc and his family strove to live off the grid, the man had a strong sense of right and wrong, and Evan had known before they even made it out there that Jean Luc would know what the right thing was to do. Evan watched his old man’s face as he stared down at the woman. Anyone else looking at him would see nothing...a blank canvas that could be interpreted in any number of ways. Jean Luc’s expression was the same whether he was singing a French lullaby to one of his babies, or skinning a gator, or shooting a wild hog. Evan always wondered if emotions were afraid to cross the path of the big man’s face, but what he’d learned in the years as he grew from a babe in his father’s giant arms to his sometimes-reluctant sidekick was that the answer to everything was in Jean Luc’s blue eyes. Every emotion the man felt was there, and now as Evan stared up at his Paw, he saw the horror there, the compassion, and the worry. Evan knew the worry would be for his own wife and daughters, and the wives and daughters of his neighbors. Evan’s Paw taught him an infinite number of things. He’d grow up learning how to work hard. He’d know how to fish, hunt, fight, love, provide for and protect his family. But the ability to do any of that without letting the rest of the world know what you were thinking as you did it, that was the one thing Jean Luc taught his son that Evan used most to shape his future.

* * *

It was over thirty years since that day in the swamps when Evan looked down into the eyes of the man responsible for leaving that poor woman to rot in the mud or be eaten by predators. But as he looked down into the man’s terrified brown eyes, not a soul in the room could have even guessed what he was thinking.

“Bonjou, Christoff.”

The man on the floor may not have known what the big, dark-haired, blue-eyed, heavily-tattooed man looking down at him was thinking either...but he obviously knew enough about the man to be very afraid. In an almost inaudible, shaky voice the brown-eyed man managed to squeak out, “Bonjou, Blackheart.”

My review:

Jessie Cooke is one on favorite writers of MC Romance book. I can't even count how many of her books I have read. I love how even though her books are about the "Bad Boys" she always gives them a huge heart. They are rough and tough but would do anything for their friends and family and whatever it takes for their Ladies. This book is filled with action, coarse language and hot sex scenes and I loved every page.

Born and raised in the Swamps of Louisiana Evan "Blackheart" Babineaux and Sally Guidry have pretty much always been together. As kids playing in the swamps they were innocent but left to run wild. As adults Evan is the President of The Jokers MC and Sally is a Nurse. Even after almost 50 years they are still together but not really together. Sally has finally fully given up on her happily ever after with Evan and decides its time to move in. In walks Lucien. He's hot and everything he does or says makes him seem more perfect to Sally. Evan jealousy over the relationship spurs him on to find something not right about Lucien. But what he uncovers is even more dangerous then even he can imagine. Lucien doesn't just want Sally's body he want's both of their souls and will do anything to get them. 





Jessie Cooke writes hot romance novels about tough guys, bad boys, bikers, fighters and lovers and the women of strong character who tame them.





HOSTED BY:

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Canada by Norah Myers


I absolutely love traveling. But many places I know i will never go, and if I do gt to go I know I will never see all the sites. So being an armchair traveler is a hobby for me. I love visiting travel website, I love going on tours or places on Youtube, and I really love photography books of places, like this one. I absolutely get lost in this type of book. Imagining what it would be like to walk do the streets, to visit the shops, to see the people, to take in the stunning sites and breath taking views.

This book features Canada. As a small child my family went to Canada a few times, but I was really to young to remember much about our trips. I have a Brother In Law who lives in Canada. He posts pictures all the time on Facebook of places they go and things they do and see. I love it all.

In the book you can see the sites, the towns, the people, the animals and more. The photos are so clear and vibrant you can imagine yourself standing there. There is a small excerpt that tells you about each photo, where it was taken and what it is showing. Basically in less then an hour you can tour so many sites across Canada. Even the run down areas are beautiful in this book.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com and chose to leave this review.


Rock that Quilt Block - Country Crown Block by Linda Hahn


I am a crafter and love making anything and everything. My Grandmothers on both sides of the family were quilters. I loved to see all their beuatiful quilts. My Mother is a huge sewer and I honestly think all the sewing I was around when I was younger is one of the reasons I love the beauty but don't put in the time and effort of sewing. But I do want to relearn the art of quilting. I would love to give my kids all a quilt for Christmas just my Grandmothers done for us.

This book is amazing the 10 quilts in this book are beautiful and make it look so easy. The book has all the patterns, and takes you step by step through the whole process of making the quilt. This book has me wanting to run to the fabric store and get busy. The book is filled with step by step color pictures so you can really see the process.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com and chose to leave this review.

Friday, June 19, 2020

Tool by K.L. Savage






Title: Tool
Series: Ruthless Kings MC #3
Author: K.L. Savage
Genre: Contemporary MC Romance
Release Date: June 19, 2020





Blurb


Being the VP of the Ruthless Kings has made me jaded
and scarred, a savage bloodthirsty beast.

Grit, pain, blood, the three constants in my life.
Love?
I wouldn't burden anyone with loving me. I'm a hard man to
love.
Until she walks through the garage doors, looking perfect in
her little blue dress and high heels.
She's neat and clean and too damn good for
me, but I'm determined to get her filthy.
Then Reaper reminds me of the debt I owe him, and the fine
is costly—stay away from the woman whose voice is a song.
Because her father is the sheriff of Vegas, and he fucking
hates us.
Come to find out, the sheriff is a bit crooked, which
unlocks a whole new set of rules in my playbook. And I have the right tools to
break all of them.

Do I go against my Prez again for my little sparrow? Or
do I let her fly away?








Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU


My review:
Tool is the 3rd book in the Restless Kings MC Series by K L Savage. It is also the 3rd book I have read. These books are stand alones but to get some of the backstory on some people and to build a relationship with the characters you might want to read the whole series but it is not necessary. Each book in the series features one of the members of the MC. There is a prequal, then Reaper which is about the President of the MC, Boomer is the man who was raised by Reaper and the MC after his father the previous President was killed, and now we have Tool, he is the VP of the Ruthless Kings. 

This is a MC series, I shouldn't have to put warnings but I will, since a few things could be trigger alerts. There is a LOT of violence in this book, child abuse, kidnapping, and murder. Along with lots of cursing, duh its a MC, and a couple graphic sex scenes, I'm not talking about mild missionary either. So beware. 

In the book you learn Tool's story from his abusive childhood up to present day. You also meet Juliette. She is the daughter of the Sheriff. She has had a awesome childhood but her whole world is about to be turned up side. 

Free in Kindle Unlimited






Also Available


AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited



AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited






Coming Soon


Releasing July 17

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU






Author Bio


K.L. Savage decided they were tired of looking for the kind
of books they wanted to read. They had an itch that needed to be scratched, and
as every girl knows, nothing scratches better than an alpha.



They write about gritty, alpha males, sometimes their dark sides, and the women
they love.

If you have the same itch, their alpha males should fix that.


Author Links

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

THE NUTCRACKER CONSPIRACY AUDIOBOOK by Lauren Carr



"Wow - this is one INCREDIBLE novel that I could not put down.
It had me  on the edge of my seat and I can honestly say that I never
saw the end coming. It was full of suspense, action but also humour
(done in a way  that only Lauren can accomplish)."
- 5-Star Review of THE NUTCRACKER CONSPIRACY by Working Mommy Journal




Join Us for This Audiobook Tour from June 8 to June 26, 2020!

Book Details:



Book TitleThe Nutcracker Conspiracy (A Thorny Rose Mystery #4) by Lauren Carr

Category:  Adult Fiction (18 +),  388 pages

Genre:  Mystery

Publisher:  Acorn Book Services

Release date:   January 30, 2020

Content Rating:  PG-13 (Lauren Carr's books are murder mysteries,
so there are murders involved. Occasionally, a murder will happen on
stage. There is sexual content, but always behind closed doors. Some
mild swearing (a hell or a damn few and far between). No F-bombs!







Book Description:



Three years ago, the nation gasped in horror when the President of the
United States barely escaped an assassination attempt that left two
dead—the vice president’s wife and the attempted assassin.  Even after
numerous investigations proved otherwise, conspiracy theorists argue
that the assassin was acting on orders from the CIA, FBI, and every
federal agency within a hundred miles of the capital.



Aspiring Author Dean Conway is the last person Lieutenant Commander
Murphy Thornton wants to spend his Saturday afternoon when they end up
at the same wedding reception table. While their wives tend to
bridesmaid duties, Murphy is trapped listening to Dean’s latest
work-in-project—completing the manuscript of an investigative journalist
who’d disappeared months earlier.



“She was number twelve,” Dean says.



“Twelve?” Murphy asks.



“Twelve witnesses connected to or investigating The Nutcracker shooting have died either in an accident or suicide.”



Two days later, Dean dies suddenly―but not before sending a text message to Murphy:



 “13”

Buy the Book:

Amazon ~ Audible


BookBub ~ Add to Goodreads

My review:
The Nutcracker Conspiracy is the 4th book in the  Thorny Rose Mysteries Series by Lauren Carr. I am a huge fan of Lauren Carr. I love how she keeps all of her characters the same in each book so they feel like old friends. I also love how she connects all of the characters in all of her different series. I like keeping up with old friends in real life and her books let me keep up with all the different characters from all of the different series. Characters from different series show up in all of her books even if it's just a phone call or a shopping trip.

Mike Alger is back to narrate the Audiobook. As usual he does and amazing job of bringing the story and characters to life. I don't know how he does it but he keeps the voice of each character exactly the same from book to book.

I just have to say: Lauren you didn't go there. You killed the Vice President's wife. In a botched attempt to kill the President the 2nd lady is shot and killed, or was he the intended victim. Three Years later the body count is adding up. 

Murphy Thornton is the main character and of course the dogs of Lauren's list of characters in this book. Every time I think I figured out this who done it, a new person or a new bit of info pops up and i have to rethink it all over again. I love this about Lauren Carr's books. You do not have the killer pinned down in the first chapter and just learn the details the rest of the book.  These books keep you guessing all the way through.

I also love that there is not a ton of graphic sex, foul language, and lots of descriptions that mean nothing to the story. There's enough going on in these books not to have to add filler with with descriptions and steam.

Meet the Author:


Lauren Carr is the international
best-selling author of the Mac Faraday, Lovers in Crime, Chris Matheson
Cold Case, and Thorny Rose Mysteries—over twenty-five titles across
three fast-paced mystery series filled with twists and turns!




Book reviewers and readers alike
rave about how Lauren Carr’s seamlessly crosses genres to include
mystery, suspense, crime fiction, police procedurals, romance, and
humor.




A popular speaker, Lauren is also
the owner of Acorn Book Service, the umbrella under which falls iRead
Book Tours. She lives with her husband and two spoiled rotten German
Shepherds on a mountain in Harpers Ferry, WV.




Connect with the author: Website  ~  Twitter  ~  Facebook  ~  Instagram


Guest Blog Post –
WHEN THE GOING GETS TOUGH - EAT CHEESECAKE
When the Going Gets Tough―Get Cheesecake
By Lauren Carr


As with most of my books, the inspiration for the Thorny Rose Mystery series was born out of a few of my own fantasies.
Set in a suburb of Washington, DC, The Thorny Rose Mysteries is my big city series that features murder mysteries with glitz, glamour, and a touch of high-tech flair.  
The protagonists are beautiful, young, and hip. Heiress Jessica Faraday is a medical student at Georgetown University studying forensic psychiatry. She is married to Lieutenant Murphy Thornton, an elite navy officer belonging to an ultra-secret team that answers directly to the military chiefs of staff. 
The Faraday-Thorntons live in Great Falls, Virginia, which is picture-perfect for this mystery series. Great Falls is a woodsy, upper class area in northern Virginia that runs along the Potomac River. While working for the federal government in Washington, I used to drive through it every day. 
I would gaze longingly at the mansions and horse farms and wonder about the flawless lives of those fortunate enough to have achieved the status of perfection that had made them worthy of living in such magnificence.
The people who lived in these houses with snazzy sports cars in the driveway were perfect. They were always in fashion. Bad hair days never dared to darken their doors. They could eat cheesecake every day and never gained weight.
Oh, how I wanted to be them.
Then I grew up, got married, had a child, and got an attitude adjustment. Funny how that happens.
The greatest thing about being a fiction writer is stepping into your fantasy world and learning a few things about your characters and life. Then you get to illustrate that lesson for your readers and hopefully give them pause to think.
Such was the case in The Nutcracker Conspiracy.
Jessica Faraday-Thornton and her husband Murphy get pulled into The Nutcracker Conspiracy after Dean Conway, the husband of Jessica’s childhood friend, is murdered. An aspiring author, Dean had been bragging about uncovering information about a coup behind an attempted presidential assassination.
In a town where government conspiracy theories fly like the cherry blossoms in springtime, the police detective investigating Dean’s murder dismisses this line of investigation and focuses on Dean’s wife as his suspect.
That means it’s up to Jessica and Murphy to find the real killer. With Murphy pulled away to work on his own murder case, it is up to Jessica, with her brother Tristan, to prove Amy is innocent.
An intelligent, determined woman, Jessica Faraday is up to the task. After all, she is the daughter of a homicide detective. She’s studying criminal behavior. She knows the steps needed to work an investigation. Plus, she has faith that her friend is innocent.
As one lead after another goes nowhere, the police close in on Amy as their prime suspect.
In her beautiful mansion, Jessica feels hopeless. The only thing left for her to do is make a double chocolate cheesecake.
On her way to the store in her purple Ferrari, Jessica is almost killed in a horrible automobile accident. Murphy arrives at the emergency room to find Jessica looking like a drowned rat after getting shot by fire hoses. Her makeup is smeared. She smells of soot.
Grateful to be alive, she hugs Murphy and says, “I love you. I need cheesecake.”
Thus, they leave the emergency room to go directly to Cheesecake Factory.
How Jessica must have appeared to the fellow diners when she walked into that restaurant with her makeup smeared down her face. She looked like a drunken clown. Her hair which usually doesn’t have a strand out of place, was matted and limp.
She didn’t care. 
The experience of almost losing everything—including her life—in a matter of minutes had adjusted her priorities.
Perfection had nothing to do with her big home in Great Falls with a closet devoted to designer shoes, being a perfect size five, taking trips to New York during fashion week, or racing around in her purple Ferrari. It wasn’t about turning heads when walking into a room.
It was about being a good friend, enjoying the love of family and friends, and the nice creamy cool taste of a delectable slice of cheesecake. 



Tour Schedule:



June 8 – She Just Loves Books – audiobook review / giveaway

June 9 – Mystery Suspense Reviews – audiobook review / author interview / giveaway

June 10 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – audiobook review / guest post / giveaway

June 10 - T's Stuff – audiobook review / guest post / giveaway

June 11 – Sefina Hawke's Books – audiobook review

June 11 - Bound 4 Escape – audiobook review / giveaway

June 12 – Splashes of Joy – book spotlight / guest post / author interview / giveaway

June 12 - Nighttime Reading Center – book spotlight / giveaway

June 12 - Locks, Hooks and Books – audiobook review / guest post / giveaway

June 16 – Dab of Darkness Audiobook Reviews – audiobook review /giveaway

June 17 – Jazzy Book Reviews – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway

June 17 - Blooming with Books - audiobook review / giveaway

June 19 – Stephanie Jane – book spotlight / giveaway

June 22 – Hall Ways Blog – audiobook review / giveaway

June 23 – Books for Books – audiobook review

June 24 – JBronder Book Reviews – audiobook review / guest post / giveaway

June 25 – Thoughts in Progress – audiobook review / giveaway




Enter the Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway









Tuesday, June 9, 2020

The Seer by Charlie Daye #PNR









The
Seer




Sidney
Rinn Series




Book
One




Charlie
Daye







Genre: Paranormal Romance


Publisher: CMV
Date of Publication: 4/1/2015
ISBN: 1542960762
ASIN: B00T4ZFWU0
Number of pages: 284
Word Count: 51,877

Cover Artist: CE Black

Book Description:

My name is Sidney Rinn. Growing
up in an orphanage without parents and not knowing where you come from is hard,
especially when you have a gift like mine. I’m a seer. I can see the past in
any location I enter.

Sometimes I see ghosts but mostly
what I see is an instant replay of whatever event played out there. If it was
important or traumatic to the person at the time then it’s important to me,
otherwise I wouldn’t see it. No, I’m not psychic nor do I claim to be. I’m just
your average girl with an above average talent.

Unfortunately, that talent had me
seeing a murder I was never meant to see, which in turn, led me two of the
sexiest men on the planet – Det. Denton Archer and PI Mitchell Caldwell. When
Denton asked for my help on the case, I jumped in with both feet not realizing
that that decision would change everything.

Now, I’m in love with both men
and the killer is after me. Can my life get anymore complicated?


Amazon     BN     AmazonUK     AmazonCA     AmazonAU



Excerpt:

We entered a conference room
where a bunch of pictures had been laid out for me to inspect. At least I
assumed they were for me, otherwise why else would I be here? I leaned over and
started perusing the selections.
            “Can
I get you anything before we get started? We have a soda machine, water or if
you’d prefer I could make you a cup of what serves as coffee around here.”
            I
smiled, “Tempting offer Detective but seeing as how I come from a generation
that has been spoiled by Starbucks I think I’ll have to pass on your imitation
coffee. I would, however, accept your offer of a non-alcoholic bubbly.”
            He
smirked, “And what can I get you?
            “What
are my options?”
            “We
carry Coke products.”
            I
held my hand over my heart with feigned disappointment “You’re killing me! I’m
a total Pepsi girl!”
            He
tried looking contrite. It really didn’t work for him. He was too smolderingly
sexy, “I could run out and get you a Pepsi.”
            I
dropped down into the closet chair and waved my hand in the air, “Nah, Coke’s
fine but I think I should warn you Detective that I’m not always this easy.”          
            He
walked over to the door and stopped before leaving. Looking over his shoulder,
he gave me the hottest look I’ve ever seen, “I should hope not.”
My eyes rounded in shock as I
watched him disappear through the door. If I wasn’t mistaken I would swear the
good Detective had just flirted with me. I mean, I know I’m new at this and all
but come on – that couldn’t be any more blatant unless he tattooed it across my
ass.
            The
question now becomes, do I flirt back or pretend it didn’t happen?
            The
good Catholic girl in me says to behave and pretend it didn’t happen, I do have
my sweet Larry at home after all. But, the devil on my shoulder says what’s the
harm in a little casual flirting? It’s not like I’m going to go home with the
good Detective and screw his brains out. Oh, decisions, decisions.
            I
looked up as the man in question walked back in with soda in hand. He placed it
down in front of me, “Let me know if you get hungry and we can break for some
food.”
            I
popped open the soda and took a sip, “Do you always entice the ladies with
canned soda, take out and mug shots?” Ok, the flirting won out.
            He
stared at me across the table with those dark soulful eyes, his lip twitched into
a sly smile before he replied, “Always.”
            I
took another sip before placing the can of soda down on the table, “You might
wanna work on your strategy Detective. I’m not sure mug shots are the way to
go.”
            He
nodded thoughtfully and leaned back in his chair, “Got it. Mug shots are out
from this point forward but what about the canned soda and take out?”
            I
smiled, “Depends on the takeout.”






My Review: 4*

The Seer by Charlie Daye is the first book in her new series Sydney Rinn. The writing is well done and I would love to meet Sydney in real life, she seems like such a fun person with her quick come backs to everything said. 

Sydney is fresh out of a Catholic Orphanage and on her own, she has enrolled in a Paranormal College to help her understand her gift better. Sydney has the gift of past sight. She can walk in a room and if something bad has ever happened in that room she will see it.

On her first day at the school she is introduced to Lily who will chaperone her for the day and show her everything she needs to know about the college. They become fast friends. At Christmas she goes home with Lily. On a walk through Battery Park she witnesses a murder, through her gift, from the day before. The murderer has not been caught and eventually comes after her. 

 Sydney is a bit boy crazy she meets 3 men and sleeps with them all. I do wish the book focused more on her gift then her sex life though. There is also a LOT of description about anything and everything that I could of done without but all in all it is a very good story, and fun to read. 

About
the Author:



Charlie Daye began writing at the
tender age of thirteen. With an obsession for romance, happy endings and the
supernatural she delves into your greatest fantasies and worst nightmares. She
will have you laughing, crying, falling in love and getting angry. She will
always give you a HEA but getting there is the journey worth taking.

Charlie Daye was born in Lynwood,
California. Her greatest passions are music and writing. Her first short story
was written at the age of thirteen. At the time her entire class was asked to
write a short story for Halloween as part of a homework assignment. Most of the
kids in the class wrote one to two page stories... Charlie wrote eight. The
short story titled The Haunted House went on to win her district wide awards
and was published locally. From their she began writing poetry as means of
expression.

Since her writing career began
she's has published several titles... The House, The Colonial, The Reservation,
The Portrait, The Gypsy's Dance, Mistaken for a Call Girl, Her Last Request and
Breeders. Four of which have been nominated for the RONE Award.



https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5778139.Charlie_Daye

Interview with Charlie Daye
Do your characters seem to hijack the story or do you feel like you have the reigns of the story?
LOL...  No, my characters definitely hijack the story. I actually got into an argument with Detective Archer in this book about the way he wanted the story to go. I so did not agree but he won out anyway. 
Convince us why you feel your book is a must read.
Two words: Sidney Rinn. She is the star of the story and is, by far, my favorite character of all time. She’s funny, has a quirky personality and a heart of gold. She takes you on an extraordinary journey through her life. And to be honest, with a gift like hers, I’m not quite sure how she does it. This book will take you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions but by the end of the story, Sidney will have wiggled her way into your heart. 
Have you written any other books that are not published?
I’m currently working on several that are near completion but not quite there yet. 
Pen or type writer or computer?
Computer.
Anything you would like to say to your readers and fans?

I thank you all for your continued support over the years and I really hope you all love Sidney just as much as I do. 





a Rafflecopter giveaway