Labels

Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Berkley Street Series Books 1 - 9 Haunted House and Ghost Stories Collection By: Ron Ripley


5*
Ron Ripley has a sick and twisted mind and I loved every second of it during this series. This is a series where the ghosts are in the staring roll for me at least. I have read/ listened to a lot of horror books some good some not so much. This whole series is a winner if you like ghosts and Gore. The ghosts kill and not gently. Each book features a different ghost who gets off on torturing the living. Retired Marine Shane Ryan goes back to his childhood home to find out what really happened to his parents. His home has always been haunted and not by 1 but several spirits. Shane takes on the ghost of the girl in the lake in book 1, in book 2 the ghost in the lighthouse, book 3 the ghost in an abandoned town. Each book features a new ghost that Shane must get rid of. This is a very long series but we'll worth it.

I received this book at my request and chose to leave this review.

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Winter Frost by Lauren Carr



Book Details:



Book Title: Winter Frost (A Chris Matheson Cold Case Mystery Book 2) by Lauren Carr

Category: Adult fiction, 290 pages

Genre: Mystery, Crime Fiction, Police Procedural, Cozy

Publisher: Acorn Book Services

Release date: January 28, 2019

Tour dates: May 1 - June 28, 2019

Content Rating: PG (It's a murder mystery and there is mild violence. Very mild swearing no F-bombs. No on-stage sex scenes.)



Book Description:



It all started with a chance encounter in the city with Blair, his late wife.



Chris Matheson and the Geezer Squad, working under the guise of a book club, dig into the events surrounding his late wife’s supposed death halfway around the globe. A state department employee shoots himself in the back three times. A CIA operative goes missing. A woman is targeted by an international assassin three years after being declared dead in a terrorist attack overseas.



Nothing is as it seems.



In his most personal cold case, Chris fights to uncover why the state department told him that Blair, the mother of his children, had been killed when she was alive. What had she uncovered that has made her a target? Who terrified her so much that she had gone into hiding and why are they now after him?


To read reviews, please visit Lauren Carr's page on iRead Book Tours.



Buy Winter Frost:



My Review:
Lauren Carr has knocked it out of the park this time. I enjoyed every second of this book, not that I don't enjoy all of her books. This one for some reason was just really great to me. Winter Frost has it all, Spy's, murder, espionage, undercover agents, faked deaths, a touch of romance, and the Geezer Squad. I love that Lauren does not overwhelm us with graphic language and sex scenes. These things do not need to be added to make great books. I love Lauren's writing style, her books are fast paced and not filled with descriptions of people, places, and things that bring nothing to the story.

Chris Matheson buried his wife or at least thought he had 3 years before. Until he runs into her face to face one day. While still in shock over Blair being alive a few days later Chris learns she really has been murdered this time, and in their old back yard. Chris and the Geezer Squad set out to answer a lot of questions. Why he was told she was dead to begin with. What she uncovered to fake her death and to end up murdered for real this time. And why is his family is being targeted by hired killers. As the mystery unravels so does the hurt of Blair leaving them in the first place.

Meet the Author:


 
 

​Lauren Carr is the international best-selling author of the Mac Faraday, Lovers in Crime, and Thorny Rose Mysteries—over twenty titles across three fast-paced mystery series filled with twists and turns!



Now, Lauren has added one more hit series to her list with the Chris Matheson Cold Case Mysteries. Set in the quaint West Virginia town of Harpers Ferry, Ice introduces Chris Matheson, a retired FBI agent, who joins forces with other law enforcement retirees to heat up those cold cases that keep them up at night.



Book reviewers and readers alike rave about how Lauren Carr’s seamlessly crosses genres to include mystery, suspense, crime fiction, police procedurals, romance, and humor.



​Lauren is a popular speaker who has made appearances at schools, youth groups, and on author panels at conventions. She lives with her husband, and three dogs on a mountain in Harpers Ferry, WV.



Connect with the author: Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Instagram

Enter the Giveaway!
Ends July 6, 2019


a Rafflecopter giveaway







Friday, May 10, 2019

The Ryan Green True Crime Collection: Volume 2 by Ryan Green



I love true crime and I Love Ryan Green. Ryan really gets down tot he nitty gritty of each of his true crime stories. You learn more from Ryan Green about the crimes than with most other Authors. He takes you into the past of the villain and the victims as well.

This collection brings 3 horrific cases.

The first is Ronald Gene Simmons. Ronald killed his whole family of 14 people as well as 2 others for a total of 16 people.

The 2nd is Christopher Worrell's killing spree. Ryan brings us the story through the eyes of James Miller, who was in love with Christopher and was also his accomplice.

The 3rd is Sinclair the case is about 2 teenage girls who were out for a night of fun in Edinburgh. They end up laying in the open the next morning 6 miles apart  beaten, gagged, tied, raped, and strangled.

And last but not least Herb Baumeister, Herb killed at least 11 men.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

Instant Pot Recipes Cookbook The Best Instant Pot Recipes for Your Whole Family By: Charlie Mason




Listening to cookbooks is a whole new experience for me. This book is filled with excellent sounding recipes and is a great book. The only problem I had was keeping up while trying to make or gather ingredients. I will be sticking with written cookbooks. Now don't get me wrong this book was great, and I did listen to the recipe than I copied it down so I could make it.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

Elena: Woman of Courage (A Family Saga in Bear Lake, Idaho #5) by Linda Weaver Clarke




I really enjoyed this book. This is a book featuring a strong Woman Elana Yeates is the new Doctor in Bear Like Idaho during the roaring 20's. This is during the time when people still thought Doctor's was a man's job. Elana shows up and is determined to change this way of thinking. Along the way she also catches the eye of the most eligible bachelor and playboy in town John Roberts. As John tries to prove to Elana they could have a beautiful life together. 

I do wish Elena had less of an attitude. A few times when anyone had an opinion Elana took immediate defense or offense to them. Yes there was a lot of people in the town who deserved her attitude but i do think she could of handled some situations a bit cooler. 

All in all Linda Weaver Clark has done an amazing job with bringing out the Power of women and overcoming obstacles in this book.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Orexi! Feasting at the Modern Greek Table by Theo Michaels


Orexi!
Feasting
at the Modern Greek Table
by
Theo Michaels
Photography
by Mowie Kay
Published
by Ryland Peters & Small
£16.99
/ $19.95



Genre:
Cookbook 

In
this enticing collection of more than 80 recipes inspired by the
flavours of Greece and Cyprus, MasterChef UK’s Theo Michaels pays
homage to his family heritage, championing traditional dishes and
sharing his own modern cooking.

Presenting
a feast for the eyes as well as the tastebuds, his fresh and
delicious food is organized into chapters entitled Meze, Sea, Land,
Sun, Fire and Sundowners, evoking the Greek way of life.
You
too can eat like a Greek by celebrating simplicity, seasonality,
abundance, healthy balance and most importantly, the joy of sociable
eating.
Beautiful
food sings from these pages: from juicy watermelon, glossy kalamata
olives, to fragrant oregano-roasted meats and delicate fish wrapped
in vine leaves. Choose a selection of mouth-watering dips and sharing
plates to create a Cypriot-style meze; enjoy the freshest fish and
seafood, perfectly grilled or fried and served with nothing more than
a dusting of salt flakes and a squeeze of lemon juice to season; cook
tender yogurt-marinated lamb on skewers over charcoal and wrap it in
fluffy homemade pita to experience souvlaki at home; or whip up
vibrant vegetable and pulse dishes, from cracked wheat pourgouri to
slow-cooked fasolia beans. Finally, make rich Greek desserts the
sweet note to end your meal; serve just enough syrup-drenched baklava
with a bitter black coffee to satisfy that craving or unwind with an
Ouzo Sour or Brandy Sunburn Cocktail.




Let me start of by saying I started drooling on the cover and did not stop until I was through this book. The photos of the dishes in this book could make anyone drool.  I love Greek food. There is a restaurant in St. Augustine Florida I love to visit they have authentic Greek food and it is to die for. With this book I won't have to drive an hour and a half to get it, I can just walk to my kitchen. 

There are tons of recipes in this book. Some even have variations. The Tempura Vegetables are one of my favorite.  The Prawns baked in feta and tomato sauce are to die for I know because I made them last night for dinner. 

If you love Greek food or even if you have never had any grab this book. The pictures alone will make you fall in love with Greek food. 

The recipes are not extremely complex so anyone should be able to make these. Most of the ingredients can be found at local grocery stores as well. 

Since I cannot get Theo to come cook for me I am going to do the next best thing and cook according to him.  He has done a absolutely fabulous job bringing me the recipes for foods I love and also for introducing me to some I knew nothing about. 
Theo
was born in London and comes from a large Greek Cypriot family. Theo
lived in America for five years, has eaten his way around the world
with a backpack and now lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and
three children.
After
reaching the heats of the semi-finals on Masterchef 2014 Theo
resigned from his position as a Board Member of a PLC to follow his
passion for ‘food’.
Theo
started by hosting his own sell-out pop up restaurant in
Hertfordshire cooking an 8-course taster menu championing modern
Greek cuisine inspired by his family.

When people
couldn’t get a table at Theo’s pop-up restaurant (the waiting
list still remains at over 700) he worked as a private chef creating
exclusive dinner parties for private clients, eventually receiving
recognition in The Financial Times and Telegraph.
Theo’s
private dining and popup restaurant won the regional ‘Best
Lifestyle Service’ award – you can find out more about his
private dining service and read reviews
here).
Theo is now the full time Executive Chef for Elsewhere Events
creating imaginative dining experiences for Elsewhere’s venues and
popup events around the world.
In
Theo’s spare time he has been a guest chef for the Sheraton Grande
in Bangkok, a regular judge for the annual Quality Food Awards and is
frequently in the press and other media including The Food Network,
BBC Radio and usually has one or two other projects up his sleeve.
Theo
Michaels is known for cooking ‘elegant village food’ inspired by
the flavours of Cyprus and his travels but also for creating
innovative family friendly food that satisfies the reality of modern
life.
Theo
has appeared on BBC Breakfast News, Sky TV, The Food Network, is a
regular on BBC 3CR Weekend Kitchen show and is a regular guest chef
on ITV’s This Morning. He is called upon by the national press for
comment and interview on private dining, food and drink trends and
for recipe inspiration. He’s also regularly spotted cooking at food
festivals. Theo’s inspiration for food varies from his roots, his
travels to cooking for his family and his love of anything cooked
over charcoal.














Follow
the tour HERE
for exclusive content and a giveaway!






Monday, May 6, 2019

Wicked Salem: Exploring Lingering Lore and Legends by Sam Baltrusis






Wicked Salem: Exploring Lingering Lore and Legends


Sam Baltrusis




Genre: Ghosts, Hauntings, Local History, Salem, Haunted History

Publisher: Globe Pequot Press

Date of Publication: May 1, 2019

ISBN: 978-1-4930-3711-7
ASIN: 978-1-4930-3712-4

Number of pages: 264
Word Count:  61,500

Cover Artist: Globe Pequot Press

Tagline: Something Wicked This Way Comes

Book Description:

It’s no surprise that the historic Massachusetts seaport’s history is checkered with violence and heinous crimes. Originally called Naumkeag, Salem means “peace.” However, as its historical legacy dictates, the city was anything but peaceful during the late seventeenth century.

Did the reputed Boston Strangler, Albert DeSalvo, strike in Salem? Evidence supports the possibility of a copy-cat murder. From the recently pinpointed gallows where innocents were hanged for witchcraft to the murder house on Essex Street where Capt. Joseph White was bludgeoned to death and then stabbed thirteen times in the heart, Sam Baltrusis explores the ghost lore and the people behind the tragic events that turned the “Witch City” into a hot spot that has become synonymous with witches, rakes, and rogues.


Amazon     BN    Globe Pequot Press

Excerpt:

What is it about the sleepy New England city that
engenders itself to history’s witches, rakes and rogues?

Salem,
Massachusetts suffers a bit of an identity disorder. There are two versions of
the so-called “Witch City” that have symbiotically etched itself into the
collective unconscious. There’s the iconic, blood-stained Salem that boasted a
sadistic sorority of witch-hanging zealots in the late 1600s. And then there is
the modern, witch-friendly spectacle that welcomes thousands of supporters into
its coven of commercialism every October.
   It’s a tale of two Salems.
  As far as the paranormal is concerned, the
city is considered to be hallowed ground. However, based on my personal
experience as a local historian and tour guide, Salem has a love-hate
relationship with its ghosts. Why?
   "The city has a long history of not
wanting to get wrapped up in commercializing its witch history," explained
Tim Weisberg, host of the radio show Spooky Southcoast and researcher with
Destination America's Haunted Towns. "It's something they've only really
embraced over the past couple of decades. There's still a bit of an 'old guard'
in the city that doesn't want to see anyone capitalizing on witches, ghosts or
things of that nature.”
   As Salem’s on-air expert for the national
Haunted Towns TV show, I helped Weisberg hunt for locations with ties to the
witch trials of 1692. It was tough. “As they've let some of that guard down and
television shows have come in, it's been my experience that the 'powers that
be’ who control many of the allegedly haunted and historic locations have been
disillusioned with the way productions have come in and treated its history,”
Weisberg told me. “At least, that's what I heard in the rejections I received
from certain locations when attempting to get permission to film Haunted
Towns."
   Known for its annual Halloween “Haunted
Happenings” gathering, it’s no surprise that the historic Massachusetts seaport
is considered to be one of New England’s most haunted destinations. With city
officials emphasizing its not-so-dark past, tourists from all over the world
seem to focus on the wicked intrigue surrounding the 1692 witch trials.
  Originally called Naumkeag, Salem means
“peace.” However, as its historical legacy dictates, the city was anything but
peaceful during the late seventeenth century. In fact, when accused witch and
landowner Giles Corey was pressed to death over a two-day period, he allegedly
cursed the sheriff and the city. Over the years, his specter has allegedly been
spotted preceding disasters in Salem, including the fire that destroyed most of
the downtown area in June 1914. Based on my research, a majority of the
hauntings conjured up in Salem over the city’s tumultuous four-hundred-year-old
history have ties to disaster, specifically the one-hundred-year-old fire that
virtually annihilated the once prosperous North Shore seaport.
Cursed? Salem is
full of secrets.



5*

I love reading books about true hauntings in towns all over the US. This book gives more than just the hauntings. It is centered in Salem Massachusetts. Not only do you learn about the haunted happenings in certain places but you also get a full run down of the poor souls who were tried and convicted in the Salem With trials in the 1600's. So you get ghosts and history, 2 of my favorite subjects. 

Sam Baltrusis has done an amazing job with this book. He has done his homework on not only the hauntings but the history as well. He takes you with him to interview various people and gets down to what is believed a true account of the witch trials. 

Sam Baltrusis has worked on a few different television shows. Haunted Towns with the Tennessee Wraith Chasers is just one. The show is aired on the Travel Channel. They done a episode in Salem and Sam done the homework of finding the history of they places they visited during their investigation. I personally love the show and have seen every episode. Now I know the man behind the history of the show. He is a very interesting man and so is this book. 

About the Author:



Sam Baltrusis, author of Wicked Salem: Exploring Lingering Lore and Legends, has penned eleven historical-based ghost books including Ghost of Salem: Haunts of the Witch City. He has been featured on several national TV shows including Destination America's Haunted Towns, the Travel Channel's Haunted USA on Salem and served as Boston's paranormal expert on the Biography Channel's Haunted Encounters.

During the summer of 2019, he will be featured on the one-hundredth episode of A Haunting airing on the Travel Channel. Baltrusis is a sought-after lecturer who speaks at dozens of paranormal-related events scattered throughout New England, including an author discussion at the Massachusetts State House and paranormal conventions that he produced called the Plymouth ParaCon in 2018 and the Berkshire’s MASS ParaCon in 2019. In the past, he has worked for VH1, MTV.com, Newsweek and ABC Radio and as a regional stringer for the New York Times.

Visit SamBaltrusis.com for more information.



http://www.facebook.com/sam.baltrusis


WICKED SALEM PROFILE: THOMAS O’BRIEN VALLOR
We have a problem with the way that most modern 'ghost hunters' are disrespectful toward the dead.
Thomas O’Brien Vallor, Salem Witch
By Sam Baltrusis


When it comes to the twisted representations of the witch-on-broom stereotypes perpetuated by Salem’s tourism machine, Thomas O’Brien Vallor has seen it all. “I don't find it to be annoying or offensive like a lot of people do because I have seen the industry from the inside out,” the Salem-based Witch (capital W) told me.
  It’s the ghost hunters on TV that really stir his cauldron.
  He’s the first to point out why the city’s contemporary pagan population is wary of the typical “aggressive male approach” on programs like Ghost Adventures and formerly Ghost Hunters. “To a Witch, the paranormal is normal and the supernatural is natural,” Vallor said, paraphrasing a quote passed down by his elders.
  Vallor contends that the paranormal personalities featured on television don’t respect those who have passed. “We believe that the dead are around us at all times so the idea of ‘ghosts’ as the souls of people who are trapped on Earth doesn’t align with our beliefs,” Vallor explained. "We have a problem with the way that most modern 'ghost hunters' are disrespectful toward the dead.”
  As far as the ways paranormal investigators are being disrespectful, the Salem Witch Walk tour guide said it’s a long list. “First of all, they don't have the right intention in their heart,” Vallor said. “Some might not respect the true history of the area or understand who actually lived here or what happened here. They’ll needlessly focus on traumatic things and sensationalize people's personal lives,” he continued. “When a Witch communicates with the dead, it’s with the utmost respect.”
  Vallor has a point.    
  For example, paranormal investigators wanted access to the city’s Witch House, the last structure standing in Salem with direct ties to the witch-trials hysteria of 1692. Home of judge Jonathan Corwin, a magistrate with the Court of Oyer and Terminer, which sent nineteen to the gallows, the Corwin House dates back to 1675 and is an icon of America’s tortured past.
  Access to the house was denied for years. Members from the Park and Recreation Commission thought it would be in poor taste to investigate the Corwin dwelling. “We have to have respect for the gravity of the injustice that occurred in 1692,” responded board member Chris Burke. “This is sort of a touchy subject,” said Elizabeth Peterson, director of the house. “We want people to be aware that we’re not a Salem witch attraction.”
  In 2011, the governing board apparently changed their minds and allowed the crew from the Travel Channel’s Ghost Adventures to set up an overnight lockdown. When Zak Bagans, Aaron Goodwin and Nick Groff walked into the Witch House, all hell broke loose.
  “In broad daylight with [Witch House director] Elizabeth Peterson and talking to her, things got really weird,” Groff told the Boston Herald. “Zak was filming and the batteries on his wireless mic kept dying. There was some sort of energy causing his batteries to die. We felt something weird, felt cold and then the batteries died.”
  The Ghost Adventures team fought for years to gain access to the historic property. “We’ve already captured a voice and we just stepped into the house to start talking about history,” Groff continued. “I think we’re going to be in for a long night of finding paranormal activity.”
  The crew supposedly picked up a child humming and an EVP of Bridget Bishop, who named “Mary” as her accuser. She kept repeating the word “apple.” In Christian Day’s The Witches’ Book of the Dead, he claimed to have summoned Bishop’s spirit away from her usual post at the Lyceum. “I didn’t want anyone living or dead to steal the spotlight from the Witch House,” he wrote. “The team mentioned recording some strong activity on the second floor, but their machines really started to get going once we arrived. Real Witches are magnets for the dead,” he said, adding that he performed a necromantic blessing in the house, which included a blood offering.
  Groff, who left Ghost Adventures 2014 and is now featured on Paranormal Lockdown, told me that the Essex Street haunt was a historical goldmine. “The location, the Witch House, is just absolutely awesome. To be able to walk back in time, regardless of the paranormal activity that’s actually occurring there, it’s just cool to step foot on those wood floors and experience the environment of what it could have been like,” he told me. “You’re almost stepping back in time. Whatever paranormal stuff that happens there is a plus to me. It’s a cool place.”
  In hindsight, Peterson said she has mixed feelings about the investigation. “Personally, I was very uncomfortable doing it. I love this sort of thing, so it wasn’t the subject matter,” Peterson told me. “They were lovely kids, but I don’t think they were a good match for the house. When they were off camera, they were very different. When their camera started running out of batteries, they did pick up a child humming. My first response was shock. My second, as a mother, is that it saddens me that there may be a child’s spirit here that I wasn’t sensitive to or was unaware of in the house.”
  Peterson believes the EVP captured on Ghost Adventures was questionable. However, she’s not saying the Witch House is free of residual energy. “There were eleven deaths in this house up until 1719,” she said. “Enormous amounts of human drama unfolded in these rooms. My son thinks he’s seen things, and I think I’ve heard things.”
  When Wicked Salem questioned Vallor about Christian Day’s use of blood on Ghost Adventures, he bit back. “I don't think that Christian’s blood ritual was disrespectful at all,” Vallor said. “He has a lot of respect for Bridget Bishop and did a lot of work with her. If you think it's disrespectful, then you don’t have a misunderstanding of blood magic.”
  As far as Salem’s “coven of commercialism” disrespecting its past, Vallor believes it’s an underlying tension that has existed for years. “When it comes to what most people consider to be commercial or touristy in Salem, I see it more related to the culture and image that the city has had for centuries,” he said. “We were the Witch City long before we were a tourist town.”
  Along the way Salem transmogrified as a city known for its blood-stained history to a Halloween-themed mecca of magic. But how? In 1970, Laurie Cabot opened the city’s first “witch shop,” selling a few tools of the trade. Her underlying goal was to educate the public about modern witchcraft and dispel some of the misconceptions related to her path. Cabot flourished.  
  In response, Salem set up a bevy of  “museums” to educate visitors, including the Witch Dungeon Museum and the Salem Witch Museum, while offering a few scares along the way. However, it wasn’t enough. So, entrepreneurs set up the Haunted Witch Village, which later became the Haunted Neighborhood at the Salem Wax Museum.
  “People were walking away from Salem disappointed that they did not get the scare,” said Salem Wax Museum’s former spokesperson in North Shore Sunday. “Historically speaking, they were overly satisfied. But they weren’t coming here just for the history. They want a haunt—to get frightened out of their wits. So we’re going a different route. And there’s nothing historical about it.”
  Of course, the Haunted Witch Village faced some controversy when it opened in October 1995. “I recently visited Salem because the witch trials were the only thing I remembered from high school history,” said a New York visitor, adding that he was confused “that a town would make a tourist trade out of this horrible event. These are disasters, you don’t celebrate them.”
  The controversy quickly subsided and the Haunted Witch Village thrived. The debate, however, continued.
  A similar backlash swept Salem in 2005 when TV Land decided to unveil a statue in Lappin Park of Elizabeth Montgomery’s character Samantha Stephens from the ’60s TV classic Bewitched. “It’s like TV Land going to Auschwitz and proposing to erect a statue of Colonel Klink,” said a former member of the Salem Historic District Commission. “Putting this statue in the park near the church where this all happened, it trivializes the execution of nineteen people.”
  The statue was erected despite the minor backlash and has become an icon of sorts for the Witch City. Oddly, the statue’s hand is pointing in the direction of Proctor’s Ledge, the spot where innocent men and women were hanged for witchcraft in 1692.
  Vallor said he didn’t come to Salem for tourism or witchcraft. However, he stuck around because he loved the city’s Halloween-year-round vibe. “I moved here as a teenager and went to Salem High School,” he said. “I hung around downtown for years before I worked in the tourism industry or even knew I was Witch.” He started giving tours with various groups in town which eventually led him to the Salem Witch Walk. “In order to help explain witchcraft to tourists I began to educate myself,” he recalled. “That is when it dawned on me that I was a Witch.”
  The tour guide in his mid-thirties believes that the hysteria of 1692 somehow laid the foundation for real Witches three hundred years later. What are the lessons learned from the Salem witch trials according to Vallor? “Don’t believe everything you hear or judge a book by its cover,” he said. “And, most importantly, think for yourself.”


Photo: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1zvAEkhKWoWcPec_dZS-dqJHUvHIPNzZ9/view?usp=sharing





Friday, April 26, 2019

Past & Present A Marketville Mystery, Book 2 By: Judy Penz Sheluk



Calamity has decided to open her own business. She's named it Past & Present. After delving in the past in book 1 to find out what happened to her Mother she has decided to help other people break down some brick walls from their families past. Her first client comes with a handful of items and lots of qyestions as to what happened to her Grandmother who was murdered in 1957. 

Judy Penz Sheluck has done a great job with both books 1 & 2 in this series. I have been working on my family tree for years. I've spent many hours on ancestry and other sites looking for clues into my family. I've found some interesting facts. During the civil war one side were horse theives. They stole horse from the Yankees and sold tgem to the Rebels and then they stole from the Rebels to sell to the Yankees. Also being poor Kentucky Farmers from what I can tell none of them owned slaves on either side of my family. Anyway I am loving this series where Genealogy is huge part ofvtge story. 

The book is narrated by Kelly Lindsay. she does an amazing job bringing this story to life. 

I was gifted this book and chose to leave this review.

Saturday, April 13, 2019

Tarot Made Simple by Liz Dean



I have been fascinated with Tarot Cards for many years. I have a few different decks, I have taught my daughters how to use and respect them. I generally come up with Past life readings when I do a reading for someone.

I honestly believe you can never learn to much about anything you are interested in and I did enjoy this book. This book is great for beginners and as a refresher course as well.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com and chose to leave this review.

Bob Langrish’s World of Horses by Bob Langrish



Horse's are beautiful animals. I loved this book and the beauty Bob Langrish has brought out in it. He traveled to 6 continents to make this this amazing book. He shows the horses in all different settings, different colors, different breeds, different ages, and has truly brought out the beauty or these animals. I cannot say enough how much I enjoyed the photos in this book.

If you love horses this book is for you.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com and chose to leave this review.

Tilda Hot Chocolate Sewing by Tone Finnanger

5*
If you like sewing or just want to see how crafty you are this book is for you. There are several sewing projects with step by step directions and pictures of the finished project in this book. There are projects for everyone from beginners to Old Pro's. These projects will make great items to set around your house or even to give as gifts. There are patterns for every projects. The instructions are easy to follow and the pictures are awesome.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com and chose to leave this review.

Eating with Peter by Susan Buckley


This book truly is a Gastronomic Journey. This is the tails of Susan Buckley after she met and married her husband Peter Buckley. There are also 28 recipes int he book so you can eat along as you read.

Peter Buckley was a writer, photographer, gourmand, as well as an inventive chef. The pair travel all over the world to eat basically. Peter loved to chat with the farmer who grew the ingredients, the chef who cooked them, and of course loved tasting the food.

I am not real sure how Susan Buckley can remember what restaurant she ate at and what she ate in say 1973, when I can barely remember what I had for dinner last Thursday, but she does, and she writes a romping tale about it.

I enjoyed seeing the world through her eyes in this book and tasting the dishes with her. It is a great book especially if you love food.

I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com and chose to leave this review.