Labels

Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Bullet by Nikki Sparxx

Title: Bullet
Series: Suicide Kings MC
Author: Nikki Sparxx
Genre: Contemporary MC Romance
Release Date: February 18, 2020
Cover Design: Melissa Gill







When Dixyn Knox left her home with dreams of seeing her name in lights in LA, she never thought she'd go back. Wanting to get away from the motorcycle club life she'd been born into, she left without a backward glance. But four years later, after failing to make a name for herself and getting mixed up with the wrong crowd, her grandfather passes away, and she decides to return to her roots. What she doesn't expect is to get involved with Ford Lawson, her father's biggest rival and president of the Suicide Kings MC. 

Sixteen years older, he is everything Dixyn swore she didn't want; outlaw biker, cocky as hell, with a way of getting under her skin. He pushes all her buttons, but for some reason, she can't get enough of him. They both know what they're doing is wrong, but neither are able to stop, caught up in the rush of their forbidden romance.

But when Dixyn's troubled past catches up to her, their relationship is the least of their worries.



“Well, I'll be damned,” a deep, rough voice sounded next to me.

I turned and stiffened. The person in front of me was not who I expected to see.

My dad's biggest rival—Ford Lawson.

He smirked. The small gesture made heat coil in my abdomen. “You lost, kitten? This bar, here, ain't your territory.”

I arched a brow. “My territory?”

He took a seat in the barstool next to mine, then swiveled to face me. “Yeah. This bar is Suicide King territory. No Forsaken welcome.”

I rolled my eyes. “I'm not Forsaken.”

“Your daddy is. That makes you guilty by association.”

I took a sip of my drink, annoyed by the conversation. “Look, I don't give a shit about your club politics.” Locking eyes with him, I continued, “I didn't know this was your bar; I don't care that this is your bar. I've had a pretty shitty week with my grandpa dying and all, and I just needed a drink. So if you could just leave me alone, that would be fucking great.”

He held my gaze for several seconds, amusement playing in his eyes before he extended a hand to me. “Ford Lawson.”

I eyed him before shaking his hand. “I know who you are.”

He cocked a brow, an amused smile lifting his lips. “Oh, do you now?”

I swallowed the lump in my throat. He was wearing a fitted black muscle shirt under his cut. He had several patches; one read “President” and another read “Bullet.” Their logo, the suicide king from a deck of cards with motorcycle wheels behind it, sat on the opposite side. “Yeah. My brother already warned me about you.”

He crossed his broad, tattooed arms over his chest with a chuckle. “They'd be pretty pissed if they found out you were here.”

I shrugged, taking another sip of my drink. “I'm a grown woman. I don't answer to them.”

“Well, I won't tell if you won't.”

I didn't miss the hidden innuendo in his words. A thrill rushed through me at the thought of Ford being a dirty little secret.

That was a bad idea; a very, very bad idea.

I downed the rest of my drink, then got up. “Sorry for the intrusion.”

As I turned to leave, Ford grabbed my arm. “Wait.”

I tried to pull away, my defenses kicking in, but his grip was firm. “Let me go,” I seethed, both angry and turned on at the same time. Thoughts of his rough hands running all over my body flashed in my mind.

“Didn't mean to overstep.” He let go of my arm. “Let me buy you a drink to make up for my lack of manners.”

“That's not necessary. Let's just forget this ever happened.”

I turned to leave again, and he called out after me. “Aw, c'mon, kitten, don't you want a little taste of the forbidden? I know I do.”

That stopped me in my tracks. Still, I didn't turn around, knowing how disastrous the idea was.

“Plus, it would piss your daddy off.”

I couldn't help but smile.

I exhaled a weighted breath as I turned back around. That sexy smirk curved his lips, making my sex clench. I hadn't been fucked properly in months. Matteo took two seconds to get off and left me unsatisfied.

“Fine, but if you start any shit with my family, you will regret it.”

He held his hands up in surrender, an amused smirk on his lips. “Ooh, the kitten has claws. Is that a threat?”

I shrugged. “Maybe.”

He laughed. “Let's have a drink,” he suggested, gesturing to my vacated barstool next to him. “Whatever you want is on me.”

That definitely was a bad idea. But I didn't want to go home yet, and something about Ford drew me in. His roguish smile and intense eyes did things to my insides that I'd never felt before. He was forbidden, off-limits, and that made me want him even more.
One drink couldn't hurt. Right?

My Review:
Nikki Sparxx has just become one of my favorite Authors!! I absolutely loved this book. I was immersed on page 1 and was sad to see it end. I cannot wait for more of the series so I can get tidbits on the romance between Bullet and Dixyn. I enjoyed the May December relationship, heck I live one myself, my husband is 11 years older then me. I love the biker world, I live that as well. Not all MC's are drug and gun runners but it worked for this story. If you have tender sensibilities you may not want to read this book there is lots of shall we say colorful language and gooey hot sex, I loved every second of it. 

Dixyn Knox is the daughter of the President of the Forsaken MC. At age 18 she packed up and left the MC world to pursue her dreams of becoming an actress. Its 4 years later now, she's stuck in an abusive relationship, she hasn't made it as a star, and her beloved grandfather has just been killed in a motorcycle accident. Dixyn goes home to the small town Laughlin Arizona for the funeral and is also able to escape her boyfriends abuse, since he happens to be out of town at the moment. Her boyfriend happens to be a leader in the drug cartel as well as abusive. She has been trapped and unable to leave but this is her moment and she takes it. 

At the funeral Dixyn cannot believe how many bikers show up, even from rival gangs. She catches the eye of Ford, the President of the Suicide Kings MC, her families biggest rival mind you.  

After a hard day of job searching Dixyn finds herself in Harlot's for a drink to unwind. Not knowing the bar belongs to the Suicide Kings. Ford sees her at the bar and knowing it's wrong walks up to her. Dixyn after being warned to stay away from Ford by her family just can't help herself. They end up back at her place and their dirty little secret begins. 

Ford and Dixyn both are unable to stay away from each other from the moment they laid eyes on each other at the funeral. Neither want a relationship but neither can stop thinking about the other either. It's almost like an addiction. 

When Ford finds out there are cartel men looking for a fiery red head he knows in his heart it is Dixyn they want. He tries to keep her safe but when Dixyn and her friends go to Vegas for a girls weekend she is found. Ford has to go to her Father and get the rival MC's together to save Dixyn.






“Control” by Puddle of Mudd

“Addicted” by Saving Abel

“Father Figure” by George Michael

“Closer” by Nine Inch Nails

“Move That Dope” by Future, Pharrel Williams, Pusha T

“Hurt” by Nine Inch Nails

“All Around Me” by Flyleaf

“Free Bird” by Lynyrd Skynyrd

“Sail” by AWOLNATION

“Miserable” by Lit

“Scars” by Papa Roach

“Through the Glass” by Stone Sour

“Low Life” by Future ft. The Weeknd

“Rebel Yell” by Billy Idol

“Beast-Southpaw Remix” by Rob Bailey & The Hustle Standard

“Brain Stew” by Green Day

“Sabotage” by Beastie Boys

“Heartless” by The Weeknd


Lover of angst, drama, and happily ever afters, Nikki Sparxx is the bestselling author of The Scars Series. When she's not writing, Nikki enjoys reading, binging Netflix, and spending time with her diva chihuahua and two crazy Frenchies.



HOSTED BY:

Monday, January 20, 2020

The Broken Girls By Simone St. James



This book was over the top for me. It is kind of 2 stories in one that come together in the end. You have the story from the late 1940's early 1950's about girls in  boarding school. Then there is 2014 which is about a journalist whose sister was killed in 1994 at the boarding school which was then abandoned for several years.

The book has ghosts as well a a few different mysteries. There's also action, drama, a bit of history, and even a love story. The book does switch from 2014 to the past every chapter or so, but it does not do so without warning.  At the beginning of the chapter it tells you which time period. Even with the switching it does not leave you lost or confused. The book has very few curse words, and really only a very vague sex scene, so I would consider it a clean read.

I personally enjoyed this book very much. I have read/listened to other books by Simone St. James and really enjoy her work. This book was no different. Rebecca Lowman does a great job with her narration as well. She really kept me involved in the story.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

Monday, January 13, 2020

Spirits of the Western Wild David Schaub & Roger Vizard

* Spirits of the western wild *

* David Schaub & Roger Vizard *

* Adventure/Mystery/Comedy *


Title: Spirits of the Western Wild

Authors: David Schaub & Roger Vizard

Publisher: Independent

Genre: Adventure / Mystery / Comedy

This mystical adventure follows a young
adventure-seeker named Luther McCleron on a westward journey to learn
more about his Grandfather. A series of fateful missteps take Luther far
from his destination to a disheveled little town under the tyranny of a
crooked sheriff named Big Willie. It’s here that Luther comes
face-to-face with the legendary ghost of Monty: a curmudgeonly ghost who
refuses to believe he’s dead. Luther just wants to get back to his
quest, but Monty thwarts his plans by using Luther to take out his
vengeance on Big Willie.

Through a catastrophic string of events, Luther and Monty find
themselves hopelessly entangled in a combative partnership that
escalates to the breaking point. Only by reconciling their differences
are they able to uncover the profound connections that weave their fates
together.




A mysterious book of premonitions, an ominous crow, and ancient
Indian drive the mystical tone of this world; conjuring spiritual forces
to help steer Luther on his journey through this western “twilight
zone.”




All the loose ends resolve in a satisfying story of redemption,
loyalty and ascension while exploring the mysterious nature of fate and
destiny. Was all of this a coincidence? Or are we guided by ancient
“spirits on the wind” that nudge and steer us along our path to assure
that we arrive safely at our intended destination in the end?




5 out of 5 stars
 A fantastic and Immersive adventure for everyone. 
What a wonderful audio book and what a
pleasure it was to be on this journey. Not only the adventure was
captivating but also everything around it. The sounds effect and voices
really bring it all together, you almost feel like you are right there
witnessing all this first hand. The production quality is something I
have never heard before. Very well done and I highly recommend it.

ORDER YOUR COPY

Amazon → https://amzn.to/2qsxtKC






______________________

TEASER




______________________

EXCERPT

It's eerily quiet here, aside from the monotonous sound of a squeaking windmill, long detached from the rusted pump that feeds the wooden water


tower.

Dilapidated wooden structures are mixed with colonial Spanish architecture.  Ominous religious relics are awash in the orange glow of twilight -- home of the classic Spaghetti Western.
Jasper leads the way, mumbling nonsensical gibberish to himself.
 


Luther tags along cautiously -- unaware of a stoic old Indian watching from the shadows of the abandoned post office.

This is Kickapoo -- eyes barely discernible inside the ancient crevices of his face.  From under his poncho, Kickapoo radiates the calm tranquility of an ancient spirit.  All-knowing -- silent and still -- moving only as much as required to breathe.

A small flourish twists overhead -- a remnant of the storm -- and a page from Luther's lost book swirls in and settles at Kickapoo's feet.

PUSH IN on the header:  “CHAPTER 2: THE DELIVERANCE.”

Kickapoo gives an appreciative nod skyward.  The plan is unfolding...


 


______________________

TEASER



My Review

I started this book when I left my house in Florida, heading to Tennessee for the first leg of a Journey to return my Grandson home to North Carolina.  My Grandson was in the back seat watching Youtube. After just a few minutes, it got quiet back there and I thought he went to sleep. Instead he was listening to the adventure plying out on the ca speakers. I have to admit, I was getting into the the adventure too but was shocked that he had started paying attention. 

This book is written as a screenplay. It's like one of the old time radio shows, you know like Lone Ranger and stuff. Yes those are a bit before my time too but I have heard them. There is a cast not just a narrator. There are sound effects. This is really a fun and interesting book. 

The book is an  American Wild West mystery/drama. Luther McCleron a young adventure seeker, is on a  journey out west to learn more about his grandfather. He ends up side tracked where he comes across a small town with a crooked Sheriff  and runs into Monty a curmudgeonly ghost. 

The pair duo up and try to find out how their fates are linked, and to get what both of them want on their quests. 

This is a fun book for all ages. I hope there are more like it to come. 

ABOUT THE AUTHORs


David Schaub is a writer and Academy Award ®
nominated Animation Supervisor working in the film industry for more
than 25 years. In 2019 he produced and directed the audio adaptation of
SPIRITS OF THE WESTERN WILD.  He also developed STORY COMPASS®
smartphone app for screenwriters (www.moviemethods.com) in 2017.




Schaub received Oscar nomination for animation in Tim Burton’s ALICE
IN WONDERLAND (Disney), along with nominations for BAFTA Award, Saturn
Award and Critic’s Choice Award, and won the Golden Satellite Award for
Best Visual Effects for his team’s work on the film.




HEAD ANIMATION on Sony Picture’s SURFS UP – recognized with two Annie
Awards among its ten nominations including Academy Award nomination and
four Visual Effects Society (VES) award nominations.




ANIMATION DIRECTOR on AMAZING SPIDERMAN 2 (2014), CHRONICLES OF
NARNIA (Disney), I AM LEGEND (Warner Bros.) and LEAD ANIMATOR on STUART
LITTLE 1 & 2, EVOLUTION, CAST AWAY, GODZILLA, PATCH ADAMS and more.




ANIMATION DIRECTOR – Universal’s award-winning JURASSIC WORLD
EXPEDITION (2019) VR EXPERIENCE. Exploring cinematic potential of
virtual reality.


website & Social links

Website → https://www.dschaub2.com/

Facebook → https://www.facebook.com/dschaub2writer

Goodreads → https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/19662596.David_Schaub




Roger Vizard is a writer and self-taught
artist. He was accepted into the animation program at Sheridan College
in1987, then worked at Sullivan Bluth Studios in Ireland, then as an
animation apprentice on “WHO FRAMED ROGER RABBIT” at Richard Williams’
studio in London.  He later became Williams’ assistant animator on
“THIEF AND THE COBBLER.”




After several years working in Europe at studios like Gerhard Hahn in
Germany and A-films in Denmark, he moved to Los Angeles in 1993 to work
as a story board artist on the first season of Sonic the Hedgehog, then
rolled back into animation again after that.  He successfully made the
transition to from 2D to CGI on “STUART LITTLE 2” in 2001, and since
that time have worked non-stop at animation/VFX studios in Los Angeles.


website

Website → https://www.rvizard.com/


http://www.pumpupyourbook.com




Monday, November 25, 2019

The Last Thing She Said (Chris Matheson Cold Case Series) by Lauren Carr





"Too many twists and turns to easily share about this book. Nevertheless, Carr has pulled off another "hit" that kept me reading in one setting until the clues were so well together that the villain fell into our laps...or Chris's, LOL Carr has put a lot into the book beyond the mysteries this time...Characters enjoyed chocotinis, visited book stores...and even blundered into getting engaged (the ring had been purchased 4 months ago)... But, for me, a special thank you for the political spoof at a time when politics at the national level is devastating, gave me a laugh and lightened the load of it all!" - Review by Glenda Bixler, Book Reader's Heaven 








Book Details:



Book Title:  The Last Thing She Said (A Chris Matheson Cold Case Mystery #3) by Lauren Carr
Category:  Adult Fiction (18 +),  386 pages

Genre:  Mystery

Publisher:  Acorn Book Services

Release date:   July 22, 2019

Formats available for purchase:  paperback, ebook, audiobook (audible & itunes)

Tour dates: October 7 to November 15, 2019

Content Rating:  PG-13 (Lauren Carr's books are murder mysteries, so there are murders involved. Occasionally, a murder will happen on stage. There is sexual content, but always behind closed doors. Some mild swearing (a hell or a damn few and far between). No F-bombs!









Book Description:

“I’m working on the
greatest mystery ever,” was the last thing noted mystery novelist
Mercedes Livingston said to seven-year-old Chris Matheson before walking
out of Hill House Hotel never to be seen again.


For decades, the writer’s fate
remained a puzzling mystery until an autographed novel and a letter put a
grown-up Chris Matheson on the trail of a cunning killer. With the help
of a team of fellow retired law enforcement officers, each a specialist
in their own field of investigation, Chris puts a flame to this cold
case to uncover what had really happened that night Mercedes Livingston
walked out of Hill House Hotel. Watch out! The clues are getting hot!







Buy the Book:

Amazon.com *

Add to Goodreads​​

My Review. 

I have to admit I had a bit of a hard time with this book. Not the book itself but my time management. I have been having a crazy few months, and it seemed every time I sat down to listen to this book the world turned upside down for me. As with all of Lauren's book, she makes you feel like you are a detective investigating the crimes in her books. If you cannot fully pay attention you loose important clues to keep you fully invested in the mystery. I started this book over 3 times not because I had to but because I love Lauren's books so much and I want to figure out the the mystery along with her characters. I love how she writes her books and I end up with a long list of suspects in each of her mysteries and pick them off one at a time. If I miss something its kind of like playing the Clue game with 1/2 the cards. Lauren's books are fun for me, and I really love this series of Cold Case Mysteries.

This particular book actually has a couple of mysteries as do a lot of Lauren's books. There is a cold case and also a new case that is all tied together. I am not real sure how to give a description of the book without saying to much. Chris Matheson is the star of this book along with his fiends and family from all of Lauren's other series.

A famous writer, Mercedes Livingston, disappeared without a trace, her husband was murdered at the same time. For many years no one knows what happened to the writer or who killed her husband. Now years later a lady Chris's Mom works with at the library turns up dead with a cryptic note in front of her addressed to Chris. In the note she says she has willed herself to die so she can be with her recently deceased husband, but she wants him to solve her 1st husbands murder, and to basically give her children the inheritance they deserve. 

Between Chris and the rest of the Geezer Squad they have to figure this all out and find the answers of this cold case, and did She really will herself to die or commit suicide. 


You may also choose to read and review:





Book Details:



Book Title: Winter Frost  (A Chris Matheson Cold Case Mystery #2) by Lauren Carr

Category:  Adult fiction,  332 pages

Genre:  Mystery

Publisher:  Acorn Book Services

Release date:  January 22, 2019

Formats available for purchase:  paperback, ebook, audiobook (audible & itunes)Tour dates:  October 7 to November 22, 2019

Content Rating:  PG-13 (Lauren Carr's books
are murder mysteries, so there are murders involved. Occasionally, a
murder will happen on stage. There is sexual content, but always behind
closed doors. Some mild swearing (a hell or a damn few and far between).
No F-bombs!

"Filled with twists and turns, Winter Frost
reads perfectly well as a stand-alone, although it is part of a series.
The author creates tension and suspense throughout by keeping the
reader guessing; she keeps readers engaged with well fleshed out
characters and a dash of humor. Sterling, the retired German Shepherd
police dog turned card shark, is a new favorite. As the story flows, the
truth unfolds, layer by layer, leading to a satisfying conclusion.




"Winter Frost was an entertaining, at times humorous read with suspense, some surprises, and even cute animals in the mix." Review of Winter Frost by The iRead Review
Book Description:

It all started with a chance encounter in the city with Blair, his late wife.



Chris Matheson and the Geezer Squad,
working under the guise of a book club, dig into the events surrounding
his late wife’s supposed death halfway around the globe. A state
department employee shoots himself in the back three times. A CIA
operative goes missing. A woman is targeted by an international assassin
three years after being declared dead in a terrorist attack overseas. 




Nothing is as it seems. 



In his most personal cold case,
Chris fights to uncover why the state department told him that Blair,
the mother of his children, had been killed when she was alive. What had
she uncovered that has made her a target? Who terrified her so much
that she had gone into hiding and why are they now after him?



Book Details:


Book Title: ICE  (A Chris Matheson Cold Case Mystery #1) by Lauren Carr

Category:  Adult fiction,  364 pages

Genre:  Mystery

Publisher:  Acorn Book Services

Release date:  February 26, 2018

Formats available for purchase:  paperback, ebook, audiobook (audible & itunes)Tour dates:  October 7 to November 22, 2019

Content Rating:  PG-13 (Lauren Carr's books
are murder mysteries, so there are murders involved. Occasionally, a
murder will happen on stage. There is sexual content, but always behind
closed doors. Some mild swearing (a hell or a damn few and far between).
No F-bombs!

"ICE is a
strong start to a new series that will have fans of Lauren Carr thrilled
to be introduced to another set of memorable and entertaining
characters. Carr's Geezer Squad has brought sexy back to mature men and
women, whose kickass attitude and smarts sizzle as they melt the clues
to those cold cases!" 
 Laura Fabiani, Library of Clean Reads



"For the whodunit mystery buff who loves ever-increasing suspense and
danger, Lauren Carr's newest series offers up a big dose of both. Murder
and mayhem seem to be Chris's new companions after returning home
following the loss of both his wife and his father. Juggling the
parenting responsibilities of his three daughters with his mother is not
something Chris was expecting at this point in his life, but life isn't
something that goes as planned." 5-Star Review at Blooming with Books


Book Description:

When Sandy Lipton
and her unborn child disappeared, the court of public opinion found
young Chris Matheson guilty. Decades later, the retired FBI agent
returns home to discover that the cloud of suspicion cast over him and
his family has never lifted. 




With the help of a team of fellow
retired law enforcement officers, each a specialist in their own field
of investigation, Chris Matheson starts chipping away at the ice on this
cold case to uncover what had happened to Sandy and her baby and the
clues are getting hot!


Buy the Book:

Amazon.com * Audible


Meet the Author:  



 Lauren
Carr is the international best-selling author of the Thorny Rose, Mac
Faraday, Lovers in Crime, and Chris Matheson Cold Case Mysteries—over
twenty titles across four fast-paced mystery series filled with twists
and turns!




Book reviewers and readers alike
rave about how Lauren Carr seamlessly crosses genres to include mystery,
suspense, crime fiction, police procedurals, romance, and humor.




Lauren is a popular speaker who has
made appearances at schools, youth groups, and on author panels at
conventions. She lives with her husband, and two spoiled rotten German
shepherds on a mountain in Harpers Ferry, WV.

Connect with the author:   Website  ~  Twitter  ~  Facebook  ~  Instagram


BOOK TOUR SCHEDULE:


​Oct 7 – Working Mommy Journal – book review of The Last Thing She Said

Oct 7 - JB's Bookworms with Brandy Mulder – book review of Ice / giveaway

Oct 7 – Bookriot – audiobook review of Ice / giveaway

Oct 7 – Just Another Reader – book review of Ice

Oct 7 - Rita's Reading Room – series spotlight / author interview / giveaway

Oct 7 - Viviana MacKade – series spotlight / guest post

Oct 8 - Just Another Reader – book review of Winter Frost

Oct 8 - JB's Bookworms with Brandy Mulder – book review of Winter Frost / giveaway

Oct 8 – Amy’s Booket List – book review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Oct 8 - Rockin' Book Reviews – book review of The Last Thing She Said / guest post /

             giveaway

Oct 9 - Cuzinlogic - series spotlight / giveaway

Oct 9 - JB's Bookworms with Brandy Mulder – book review of The Last Thing She Said /

              giveaway

Oct 9 – Just Another Reader – book review of The Last  Thing She Said

Oct 9 - The Voracious Bibliophile – book review of The Last Thing She Said

Oct 10 – Librorum in Sempiternum – book review of Ice / giveaway

Oct 11 – It's All About the Book – book review of The Last Thing She Said

Oct 14 – b for bookreview – series spotlight / author interview

Oct 15 - Buried Under Books - audiobook review of Ice / giveaway

Oct 15 – Pause for Tales – book review of The Last Thing She Said

Oct 16 – Locks, Hooks and Books – audiobook review of The Last Thing She Said /

                 guest post / giveaway

Oct 17 – Library of Clean Reads – series spotlight / giveaway

Oct 18 - Library of Clean Reads – book review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Oct 19 – Bookriot – audiobook review of Winter Frost / giveaway

Oct 20 – Librorum in Sempiternum – book review of Winter Frost / giveaway

Oct 21 - Hall Ways Blog – audiobook review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Oct 21 - Words And Peace – book spotlight / giveaway

Oct 22 – Kristin’s Novel Café – audiobook review of The Last Thing She Said

Oct 23 – Mystery Suspense Reviews – audiobook review of The Last Thing She Said /

                 guest post

Oct 24 – Haddie's Haven – audiobook review of Ice / giveaway

Oct 24 – FUONLYKNEW – book review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Oct 24 - My Journey Back - series spotlight / guest post / giveaway

Oct 25 - Blooming with Books – audiobook review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Oct 25 - StoreyBook Reviews - book spotlight / guest post / giveaway

Oct 26 – Bookriot – book review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Oct 28 – Sefina Hawke's Books – audiobook review of The Last Thing She Said

Oct 29 - Buried Under Books - audiobook review of The Last  Thing she Said / giveaway

Oct 29 – My Reading Journeys – book review of Winter Frost / giveaway

Oct 30 – Elizabeth McKenna – Author – book spotlight of The Last Thing She Said /

                 giveaway

Oct 31 – Dab of Darkness Book Reviews – audiobook review of The Last Thing She Said

                 / giveaway

Nov 1 – Life as Leels – book review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Nov 4 – Books for Books – audiobook review of Ice / giveaway

Nov 5 – Bound 4 Escape – book review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Nov 6 – fundinmental – book review of Winter Frost / giveaway

Nov 6 - My Reading Journeys – book review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Nov 7 – Haddie's Haven – audiobook review of Winter Frost / giveaway

Nov 8 – Literary Flits – series spotlight / giveaway

Nov 11 – The Avid Inspri – book review of Ice / giveaway

Nov 11 - Books for Books – audiobook review of Winter Frost / giveaway

Nov 12 – Librorum in Sempiternum – book review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Nov 13 – Celticlady's Reviews – book spotlight / giveaway

​Nov 13 - A Fountain of Books - book review of The Last Thing She Said / guest post / giveaway

Nov 14 - T's Stuff – audiobook review of The Last Thing She Said / author interview /

                 giveaway

Nov 15 - The Avid Inspri – book review of Winter Frost / giveaway

Nov 15 – Nighttime Reading Center – book review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Nov 18 – Laura's Interests – audiobook review of The Last Thing She Said / guest post /

                 giveaway

Nov 18 - Books for Books – audiobook review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Nov 19 – JBronder Book Reviews – audiobook review of The Last Thing She Said

Nov 19 - Shalini's Books & Reviews – book review of The Last Thing She Said

Nov 20 - fundinmental – book review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Nov 20 – Haddie's Haven – audiobook review of The Last Thing She Said / guest post /

                 giveaway

Nov 20 - I'm All About Books – book review of The Last Thing She Said / guest post /

                giveaway

Nov 20 - Svetlana's reads and views – book review of The Last Thing She Said /

                giveaway

Nov 21 – Books Are Love – book review of The Last Thing She Said / author interview /

                 giveaway

Nov 21 - The Avid Inspri – book review of The Last Thing She Said / guest post /

​                 giveaway

Nov 22 - Adventurous Jessy – book review of The Last Thing She Said / giveaway

Nov 22 – SammieReadsBook – book review of The Last Thing She Said / author

                 interview / giveaway

Nov 22 -  Jypsylynn – book review of The Last Thing She Said


Author interview with Lauren Carr

Getting to Know Chris Matheson and the Geezer Squad


Can you tell our readers about Chris Matheson? 
Former FBI agent, Chris Matheson is the widowed father of three little girls who returns to the family farm after his father’s sudden death. In his late forties, he’s a young retiree. At his mother’s urging (aka nagging), he attends a book club meeting. His father, a retired police captain, had formed the club which is made up of a diverse group of law enforcement retirees. To Chris’s surprise, the group, self-named The Geezer Squad actually investigates cold case mysteries while working under the guise of a book club.

Where did the original idea of them come about?
One evening, I was looking for a good mystery to watch on Netflix when I happened upon a true crime series entitled The Keepers, which explored the unsolved 1969 murder of Sister Cathy Cesnik in Baltimore, Maryland. As fascinating as this series is (and I do recommend it to any mystery lover), as a writer, I was drawn to the “detectives” investigating this cold case. They were former students of the victim. Now, decades later, retired, they were each using their individual skills to solve this case that keeps them up at night. For example, the outgoing former student would meet and talk to potential witnesses. The bookish one would scour the newspaper archives in the library. 
I couldn’t get the concept out of my mind. The writer in me twisted and turned the idea. In a matter of days, the Geezer Squad—a group of law enforcement retirees who work those cold cases that keeps them up at night barged into my imagination. This pushy group of retirees practically upended my current work-in-progress. Surprisingly, I discovered during my research that some police departments actually have Geezer Squads working on contract—retirees tasked with working cold cases.


What makes the Geezers original?
They’re sharp-mind retirees on a blood-thirsty quest to solve those cold cases that keep them up at night. But they’re scared to death of their families.

The number one rule of The Geezer Squad is to never talk about The Geezer Squad. They have family and friends who want them to spend their retirement peacefully reading books and meeting with their fellow geezers. If their families knew they were actually chasing down murderers, they’d get into big trouble.

What makes them tick?
They need to solve murder mysteries—especially those cold cases that nag at them. 

Each member of the Squad has spent his or her adult life helping victims, following clues, and putting together the pieces to solve murder cases. As they explain it to Chris, who is a young retiree, they need to work their minds to remain sharp. While their bodies are old, their minds have been exercised into top condition throughout the years and you can’t just shut it off.   

What is their biggest fear?
That their families find out what they’ve been doing.

If you and Chris Matheson and the Geezer Squad met in real life, do you think you’d get along?
Most definitely, as long as I never talked about The Geezer Squad.

Who would you like to see play them if your books were made into a film or TV show?
One interview question that befuddles me is, “What actors do you envision playing your characters?” Truthfully, when I write a book, I don’t see celebrities playing any of the characters. They come to life as unique personalities all their own. For this reason, I’m stumped.
However, for this interview, I have done some “casting calls” and found some celebrities who I can see playing the Geezers. 
Christopher Matheson (Chris): Played by Mark Walhberg. Chris Matheson made his career in the FBI working undercover in a variety of covers. From what I have seen, Mark Walhberg is a very versatile actor who has played a wide variety of roles. I’ve seen Walhberg playing roles from sophisticate businessman to oil rig operator. A retired FBI agent, Chris takes care of his family farm, and I have no problem seeing Mark Walhberg cleaning a horse stall. 
Francine Duncan: (Played by Bernadette Peters) Francine is a retired investigative journalist from the Associated Press. Divorced children and grandchildren living with her. Fast talking, she’s a scrappy character who isn’t easily intimidated. Short, she wears big sweaters and hats that she pulls down to cover her ears. She is not a clothes horse. I can see Bernadette Peters with all of her curly hair flying out from under her hat while checking out Chris’s buns as he walks away. Bernadette can easily deliver Francine’s fast-talking lines with great comic timing.
Jacqui Guilfoyle (played by Jamie Lee Curtis): Retired medical examiner from Pennsylvania. Widowed with no children. Lives alone in elegant home on a mountaintop overlooking Shenandoah Valley. Jacqui is demure and classy. She is described in the Geezer Squad as having long blond hair and being very attractive. Yes, Jamie Lee Curtis has short gray hair, but the more important trait about Jacqui is her intellect and sophistication. Jamie Lee Curtis carries these traits off so well. 
Bruce Harris (played by Patrick Stewart): Retired attorney general from Virginia. Owns a winery in Purcellville, Virginia. His wife is an architect with her own firm in Leesburg. Has son in college. 
When I developed Bruce, I envisioned him having hair. I was actually torn between Patrick Stewart and Sean Connery, but have decided on Sean Connery for Elliott, as I’ll explain later. 
Bruce Harris is the self-described devil’s advocate of the Geezer Squad. He figures the legal angles of their cases. Unofficially, he is the leader because he is a retired state attorney general. He tells them what they need to uncover to bring the perpetrator to justice. Also, as they close in the killer, Bruce thinks ahead to what loop holes the murderer may use to get off. Bruce’s character drips with elegance and breeding. He’s spent his life surrounded by wealth and power, which he knows very well—including the slimy underbelly. It’s a good thing he’s one of the good guys because he uses that knowledge to help the Geezers. Having played this role in Star Trek and the X-Men, Patrick Stewart is a natural. 

Ray Nolan: Played by Wallace Shawn: This Geezer established cyberwarfare task force after 9/11. He was shot in the back by a homegrown terrorist and is now wheelchair bound. He lives with his daughter (who shot and killed the terrorist in a Chuck E. Cheese parking lot) and her family. His daughter is one soccer mom you never want to mess with.
Many of you may not know Wallace Shawn, the actor I have chosen for this part. But I bet if you saw his picture you would know him. Wallace Shawn is one of those faces that you recognize but not the name. He’s got a distinctive voice and terrific comic timing, which is Ray’s strong suit.
Elliott Prescott: Played by Sean Connery: Founding member of the Geezer Squad. He could tell you what he did before he retired, but then he’d have to kill you. Elliott Prescott’s past is a mystery. He’s mysterious and masculine. But he’s got a very soft spot for Doris, the widow of one of his best friends. In Ice, he shows up at a black-tie benefit to sweep Doris off her feet—so James Bond. So, it was only natural that a former James Bond would play him.
Doris Matheson (played by Michelle Pfeiffer): Chris’s mother is not a member of the Geezer Squad, but she plays a big role in the Chris Matheson Cold Case Mysteries and in The Last Thing She Said. Doris is a sixty-five-year-old ageless beauty—much like Michelle Pfeiffer. It is revealed in Ice that she is a former Miss West Virginia who purposely threw the Miss America pageant so that she could marry Chris’s father. (Chris was born six months later.) She’s not your average beauty queen. Doris is a strong, intelligent, take-charge type of lady. 

How many books do you have in the series so far?
Three: ICE (released February 2018)
Winter Frost (January 28, 2019)
The Last Thing She Said (July 2019)

What’s in store for them next?
Look for a spring wedding in 2020. Maybe. Maybe not. 
With only a week to go before Chris and Helen’s wedding, Helen’s family is thrown into turmoil when her siblings discover that their birth mother had not abandoned them as children but had in fact been murdered. What is meant to be a happy reunion for a wedding turns into a family feud when it is revealed that Helen had known the truth all along and kept it from her younger siblings.
Now, with only seven days to go before the wedding, Chris and the Geezer Squad embark on heating up this cold case and solving it to bring closure for the bride and her family.

Look for this next Geezer Squad Mystery in Spring 2020! 






ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!

​Ends November 30th, 2019