Labels

Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts

Sunday, September 6, 2020

Maddox: The Wild Ones (Jokers MC Book 3) by Jessie Cooke




Ok this series just get better and better. I wasn't 100% impresssed by book 1 Blackheart but after reading Gabriel and now Maddox I am hooked. Jessie Cooke is a great MC Romance author and I love her books.

In this book Blackheart's sister is missing and so far the Joker's MC has not been able to find any clues. They could just be too close since it is on of their own. They put in a call to another friendly MC and Maddox arrives. Maddox is a PI in California. While in Louisiana he meets Carmella. He gets more than he bargained for when he starts having feelings for her. She is the first woman he has had feelings for since his wife and son were killed by a drunk driver. All is going well until he finds out that Carmella is the Daughter of the Mafia boss who just so happens be suspect number.

This book is filled with twists turn and surprises like Carmella doing whatever she can to help Maddox with answers about her family.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

Blizzard (The Brotherhood Journals) by Addison Jane



Blizzard (The Brotherhood Journals)
by 

Blizzard is another Awesome MC book by Addison James.  I am really enjoying all of the books in all of the series featuring the Brothers by Blood MC. This book was included in the set of The Club Girl Diaries that I was given as part of a book tour and I am so glad it was. I have to admit I am kind of in love with Blizzard. He is a man that seems to take care of his family both blood and MC with no second thoughts.

Earlier in the Club Girl Diaries series he meets Rose who seems to have stabbed the whole MC in the back but there is just something about her. Now she is under the clubs protection and as much as he wants her away from him the feelings to pull her near are stronger. This story is basically how their feeling grow into love, oh yea and that his estranged mother shows up asking for help asking from Blizzard and the MC to help her to get her Daughter back who was kidnapped by another MC. 

Blizzard's mom took off when he was a kid leaving him to be raised by his drunken abusive father. Now she is back. She is part of another MC and has a daughter Blizzard knew nothing about. Blizzard and the Brothers decide to help but it is Rose who will do the most work. She is trained to be a stripper to get the VP of the MC's attention so they can try and get the girl back. She is a crucial part but she has to make sure they do not suspect her as being a part of the Brothers by Blood. All goes well for  while but they do learn she is there as a spy. Now Blizzard and the MC has to not only get the girl but also Rose out and all of them keep breathing as well. 

Can't wait to read the next books in these Series. I Love Addison Jane's writing. She is doing a great job of making the characters in the books real people. I also love that these books can be red as stand alones but are so much better as a series. You get to follow each of their stories through out. The Characters are not just in one book. 

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

Gabriel: The Wild Ones (Jokers MC Book 2) by Jessie Cooke



Gabriel is the 2nd book in the Joker's MC series by Jessie Cooke. I wasn't really sold on this series with book 1 Blackheart but oh my has she stepped this series up with this book. I am not saying Blackheart wasn't good it was just kind of slow or me. I love Jessie Cooke's books and I also love that she connects other series into every book, she also adds to her character lists but keeps the old ones around as well and you get to follow them like old friends.

In this book Gabriel is the star. He was adopted by the MC after his parents deaths and has been pretty much raised in the MC. Now he is a full patched member. He also has a girlfriend, Patrice, who unbeknownst to him is about to turn some members upside down, especially the MC President Blackheart. One night Gabriel is partying to hard and has to much to drink. Patrice goes to Blackheart and tells him she is his daughter and wants his help to find out who murdered her mother when she was just a baby, that is if he didn't do it himself. Blackheart who doesn't remember the one night stand with her mother but can see the resemblance to her of himself, and agrees to help.

As with all of Jessie Cooke's books there is twists & turns, danger and romance. Some sex and lots of Biker bad language but I loved it all.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.




Saturday, September 5, 2020

Audio Blog Tour: Summoned by Mckayla Eaton

Author: McKayla Eaton

Narrator: Becci Martin

Length: 6 hours 17 minutes

Series: The Demon Summoner Trilogy, Book 1

Publisher: McKayla Eaton

Released: Jun. 18, 2020

Genre: YA Fantasy

Friday, August 21, 2020

Legacy of Secrets by Helen Starbuck


Join us for this tour from August 10 to August 28, 2020!



Book Details:



Book Title: Legacy of Secrets by Helen Starbuck

Category:  Adult Fiction, 243 pages

Genre Romantic Suspense

Publisher Routt Street Press

Release date:  March 2020

Content Rating: R for two explicit sex scenes, bad language, mild violence.


Book Description:



Other families pass down their stories, Kate Earnshaw’s family’s
secrets disappear from one generation to the next. Kate Earnshaw's
father's suicide has left many unanswered questions. In handling his
estate she wonders if she ever really knew him. He never explained why
he let his childhood home in Eastern Colorado fall into ruin or why he'd
kept the property a secret. And he never told Kate about his close
friendship with Evan Hastings, the handsome and somewhat puzzling man
who lives on the property near the abandoned house. Evan seems to have
as many secrets as her father and knows more about him than Kate did.
But there’s something about Evan that calls her back to her father’s
home. Something that threatens to unearth more than the past. Legacy of
Secrets explores family secrets, a daughter's grief and her search for
answers, and a chance for love.


Buy the Book:

Amazon.com ~ Audible


Add to Goodreads

My Review:
In the book Kate has just lost her father to suicide but cannot comes to grips with it. After the will is read she inherits a piece of property and a house she knew nothing about. She goes on a personal journey to get to know her father better so she can understand the reasons for his suicide but all the time in her mind she feels he did not commit suicide. 

When she gets to the house she inherits her life actually takes many turns. The house is dilapidated and falling down. While there she meets Evan Hastings. The man who lives next door to the property and the self appointed caretaker so to speak. Sh learns that not only did her father come to the property many times but also has a friendship with Evan. 

Jealousy seems to rear its ugly head. There is an immediate connection between Kate and Evan but Kate cannot get past the part that Evan knows a lot about her father that she never did. When Evan tries to let her into the friendship he had with her father she blows up and stalks off, multiple times may I add. 

In the end she feels she pulled even tighter towards murder. The story is filled with twists and turns. The narration was pretty good. As with any book there were parts I enjoyed and Parts I did not but it was still worth my time. 


I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.


 Meet the Author:



Helen Starbuck is a Colorado native, former OR nurse, and
award-winning author of the standalone romantic suspense novel Legacy of
Secrets, and the Annie Collins Mystery Series. She loves mysteries,
suspense, romance, and any book that is well written. She’s a huge fan
of books with independent, strong, women characters and, as Neil Gaiman
says, “…stories where women save themselves.”



Connect with the author:  Website Facebook ~ Twitter ~Instagram ~ Pinterest ~ Goodreads

GUEST POST from Helen Starbuck, 
author of LEGACY OF SECRETS


I love my characters. A plot without characters the reader (and author) can relate to isn’t worth reading in my opinion. I draw from my nursing and writing background, my love of reading, and my counseling psychology degree to flesh out my characters. I write what I love to read, romantic suspense and mystery. Overhearing a conversation, seeing a photograph, walking and letting my mind wander, listening to music, and attending writing retreats and seminars are all sources of inspiration for characters and plots. And sometimes characters and plots just pop out of my imagination fully grown.

Legacy of Secrets, my new book, is set in Eastern Colorado, a ranching and farming area made up of both large and small towns. As a native Coloradan, I’m familiar with the setting. The town of Ardwell, Colorado, is a figment of my imagination, but representative of small towns in the state.

The idea for the book was the result of a writing seminar where the presenter spread photos of iconic paintings on a table, asked participants to choose one that spoke to him or her, and write for fifteen minutes. I chose one that showed an old house sitting in the midst of a field of overgrown grass. That house became the abandoned Earnshaw family home, which figures prominently in the story about a father with many secrets.

I wanted to tackle the subject of suicide and the effects it has on those left behind. As children I don’t believe we ever really know our parents. We think we do, but we know them as parents not ‘people.’ I wanted to explore a daughter’s grief and her discovery of the many secrets her father had kept. I wanted to explore a small community and it’s residents, and how these affect my main character, Kate Earnshaw, during her journey to discover who her father was and why he committed suicide.

My next romantic suspense novel is, Finding Alex. A woman assaulted, left for dead, and now amnesic, may be the only surviving victim of a killer who’s targeting prostitutes and leaving their bodies without fingertips to complicate their identification. She has her fingertips, but Denver homicide detective Blake Halloran must try to identify her and hope her memory returns so he can find the killer. I think readers will enjoy it.


Tour Schedule:



Aug 10 – Corinne Rodrigues | Booksnita – book spotlight

Aug 10 - From the TBR Pile – audiobook review / giveaway

Aug 11 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review / giveaway

Aug 11 - I'm Into Books – book spotlight / giveaway

Aug 12 – fundinmental – book spotlight / giveaway

Aug 13 – Olio by Marilyn – book spotlight / author interview

Aug 13 – Olio by Marilyn – book review / giveaway

Aug 14 – Stephanie Jane – book spotlight / giveaway

Aug 17 – Read and Review – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway

Aug 18 – Jazzy Book Reviews – book spotlight / author interview / giveaway

Aug 19 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review / giveaway

Aug 20 – Books and Zebras – book review

Aug 20 - Books for Books – book spotlight

Aug 21 - T's Stuff – book review /guest post / giveaway

Aug 21 – Celticlady's Reviews – book spotlight / giveaway

Aug 24 – Mystery Suspense Reviews – audiobook review / guest post / giveaway

Aug 24 - Sefina Hawke's Books – book spotlight

Aug 24 - Rajiv's Reviews - book review

Aug 25 – Amy’s Booket List – audiobook review / giveaway

Aug 26 – Pen Possessed – book review / giveaway

Aug 26 - Rebecca Graf on Medium - audiobook review

Aug 27 – Library of Clean Reads – book review / giveaway

Aug 28 – Adventurous Jessy – book review / giveaway

Aug 28 - The World As I See It – book review

Aug 28 - My Fictional Oasis – book review

Enter the Giveaway:


a Rafflecopter giveaway
















Sunday, August 16, 2020

Audio Series Tour: The Northern Michigan Asylum Series book 3 by J.R. Erickson

Author: J.R. Erickson

Narrator: Margy Stein

Length: 9 hours and 18 minutes

Series: Northern Michigan Asylum Series, Book 3

Publisher: J.R. Erickson

Released: Oct. 15, 2019

Genre: Paranormal


Sunday, August 9, 2020

Audio Series Tour: The Northern Michigan Asylum Series book 2 by J.R. Erickson

Author: J.R. Erickson

Narrator: Kelsey Navarro

Length: 7 hours and 57 minutes

Series: Northern Michigan Asylum Series, Book 2

Publisher: J.R. Erickson

Released: Aug. 15, 2019

Genre: Paranormal


Sunday, August 2, 2020

Audio Series Tour: The Northern Michigan Asylum Series book 1 by J.R. Erickson

Author: J.R. Erickson

Narrator: Allyson Voller

Length: 7 hours and 26 minutes

Series: Northern Michigan Asylum Series, Book 1

Publisher: J.R. Erickson

Released: May 20, 2020

Genre: Paranormal


Friday, July 31, 2020

Dark Secrets by Avelyn Paige & Geri Glenn



Release Blitz


Series: Dark Protectors MC #2
Release Date: July 31, 2010

Cover Designer: Simply Defined Art



Years ago Shelby Dawson fled, with nothing but a broken heart and a baby on the way. She never expected to see him again. She sure as hell never wanted to need him.

Until her daughter meets the wrong man online.
Until her daughter is taken.

When Shelby shows up at the clubhouse, drenched in rain and crying over her missing daughter, he wants to hurt her like she’d hurt him.

But when he discovers the missing daughter is his, he’ll rain down hell on whoever took her, and he might just find redemption in the process.




One-Click Your Copy!











My Review:
Dark Secret is the 2nd book in the Black Hood MC series and the 2nd book I have read. Book 1 Dark Protector was a really good book but  Dark Secret is even better. I couldn't put the book down. Avelyn Paige & Geri Glenn have done a great job together on this series and I cannot wait for book 3.

In the book Wyatt Hayden or Hashtag is the main character.  On the day of his Patching party 13 years ago the love of his life Shelby just disappears on him without a word, note, or phone call. Hash never got over her. Now 13 years later Hash is setting at the bar in club when he looks up to see Shelby standing there. Shelby has walked back in to ask a favor from Hash. Her daughter which also happens to be his daughter has gone missing. Hash doesn't know he is a father so everything is thrown at him at once.

He takes on the favor and does what he can to find his Daughter Hayden and along the way He and Shelby try to piece back their relationship. Hoping against hope they find their daughter before it is to late.




Catch up on the series with Dark Protector


Blair’s life isn’t perfect, but she has a plan. Find a new roommate, finish school and finally start the future she’s been working so hard for.

And then he knocks on her door. One unwanted visitor is all it took to crush her reality and leave her living in fear. But at least she’s living, thanks to the help of a good Samaritan.

A very sexy, tattooed and motorcycle-riding man with a dog that looks as savage as he is sweet. GreenPeace saves her. He makes her feel safe. He makes her feel a lot of things she’s never felt before.

But, the danger’s not over. Her attacker is still there, lurking in the shadows and waiting to strike again. GreenPeace will put his life and his club on the line to save the captivating woman that’s stolen his heart. But even that might not be enough.

   




Avelyn Paige

Avelyn Paige is a USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author who writes stories about dirty alpha males and the brave women who love them. She resides in a small town in Indiana with her husband and three fuzzy kids, Jezebel, Cleo, and Asa. Avelyn spends her days working as a cancer research scientist and her nights sipping moonshine while writing. You can often find her curled up with a good book surrounded by her pets or watching one of her favorite superhero movies for the billionth time. Deadpool is currently her favorite.

To learn more about Avelyn's books,











Sign-up for Avelyn's Monthly Newsletter: http://bit.ly/2Mp9zc2





Geri Glenn

Geri Glenn writes alpha males. She's a USA Today Best-Selling Author known for writing motorcycle romance, including the internationally bestselling series, the Kings of Korruption MC.

She lives in the Thousand Islands with her two daughters, one big dog and one terrier that thinks he's a Doberman. Before she began writing contemporary romance, Geri worked at several different occupations. She's been a pharmacy assistant, a 911 dispatcher, and a caregiver in a nursing home. She can say without a doubt though, that her favorite job is the one she does now-writing romance that leaves an impact. She loves homemade cookies, copious amounts of coffee and Diet Coke by the case. 

To learn more about Geri's books,












Saturday, July 25, 2020

Doc T by Skye McNeil


Title: Doc T
Author: Skye McNeil
Genre: MC Romance
Series: Macha MC, #1
Release Date: July 25, 2020
Cover Designer: BookSmith Design

Available now!
All other links: Books2read.com/doct
When danger surrounds a motorcycle club princess and her bad boy protector, will they battle to keep their love alive?

The job is simple. Babysit a MC princess until it’s safe for her to return to Ireland. What Doc T doesn't expect is to fall for the sassy yet innocent Isadora Walsh... but he can’t have her. It’s the club’s rule.

Isa never knew about her father’s role in Macha MC until it threatened her life. Spirited away to sleepy Snowshoe, Colorado, she craves the bad boy assigned to protect her nearly as much as she's determined to get away from club life. 

When danger crosses into Snowshoe and alliances are questioned, Isa and Doc are thrust into a MC war that results in bullet holes and kidnapping. Can Doc protect Isa or will the Macha princess do the saving?



I am going to rate this book as 4 stars. Not because it was bad in any way. I actually enjoyed the book and the characters. The first pretty much 3/4 of the book was the budding romance between Doc and Isa. The last part of the book it ramped up a lot and was great. Just wished there had been a bit more excitement in the early parts of the book. Not that it was boring or anything, I just found myself waiting on an attack or something from the rival MC. 

In the book the Macha MC in Ireland is in a turf war with the Mad Men MC. The presidents daughter Isadora is sure to be used as a pawn. So she is shipped off to the Macha MC in Colorado USA. Doc is to be her protector an babysitter. From the second Isa steps into Doc's life there is just something about her. Doc is normally a playboy with a huge sexual appetite. But all he can think of now is Isa.

Isa is taken to Colorado. She has just left everything and everyone she knows. She was not raised around her father or the MC. She has had a quiet life and honestly has no clue about what she has been drug in the middle of. Now in Colorado her world has opened up. IF she survives the attacks of the Mad Men will she be able to go back to her quiet life or will she stay with Doc and this new life?



Skye McNeil began writing at the age of seventeen and has been lost in a love affair ever since. During the day, she moonlights as a paralegal at a law firm favouring criminal law.

Skye enjoys writing romantic comedies and cozy mysteries novels that leave readers wanting more and falling in love over and over. She writes contemporary and historical novels ranging from sweet and sassy to steamy and sultry.

Her constant writing companions are two cats and two dogs. When she’s not writing, Skye enjoys spending time with family, photography, volleyball, traveling, and curling up with a cup of coffee and reading.

Sign up for Skye's newsletter HERE.