Labels

Saturday, June 15, 2019

Audiobook Adopt-A-Thon Ember Burning by Jennifer Alsever

The Adopt-An-Audiobook program is open to anyone willing to review audiobooks. There are more than 100 audiobooks looking for good homes with honest reviewers.
CLICK HERE to adopt an audiobook today!
Ember Burning
Trinity Forest, Book 1
By: Jennifer Alsever
Narrated by: Moira Todd
Series: Trinity Forest, Book 1
Length: 8 hrs and 47 mins
Unabridged Audiobook
Release date: 09-07-17
Language: English
Publisher: Sawatch Publishing

Publisher's Summary


Author Jennifer Alsever delivers an addictive story ideal for fans of The Uglies, We Were Liars, and Before I Fall about a teen grieving over her parent's tragic death who becomes entangled with a mysterious forest teeming with urban legends of strange disappearances and witchcraft.

Ember Trouve used to be alive, driven to become a musician and on a path to college. That was before her parents died. One day, after venturing into the fabled Trinity Forest, she goes missing. Now, Ember must confront the truth behind her parents' death - or lose herself to the forest forever.

In this fresh and compelling novel, Jennifer Alsever creates a paranormal world of loss, mystery, love, and survival as Ember searches for escape - and a path back to herself. Ember Burning is the first installment of the three-book Trinity Forest series.

©2017 Jennifer Alsever (P)2017 Jennifer Alsever

Goodreads
Buy Links


5*
Jennifer Alsever blew me away with this story. I am not a huge fan of YA/NA books, but after this one  I may be changing my mind. I honestly stayed up till 2:30 AM to finish this story. For almost 9 hours I listened to this book straight except while eating dinner and taking a shower. It was that good.  This is the 1st book in the Trinity Forest series, and it is a fantastic start to a series. I also have the 2nd book Oshun Rising which I have already started listening to and so far it is just as good as the this one, but that is a review for another post. Language is at a bare minimum and there is no blatant sex. There is a couple sparse references to a date rape, but it is a quick reference with minimal details.

Moira Todd narrates this book and does a fantastic job. She also sings in the book. Moira has so much emotion you can actually feel the story and picture the details people, places, and things of the story.

Ember has lost everything in her short life. Both of her parents were killed in a car accident, and the guilt is eating Ember alive. She was in the car as well and arguing with her mother who was driving, so she feels as that their death is her fault. Ember's brother has left her to go off to college, and the grandmother she is living with makes her feel invisible. Ember is a senior in high school and has no life plans after graduation. And Ember has gotten on drugs as well. Her one hobby is collecting pictures of missing people and putting them in a  notebook.

Trinity Forest is a large wooded area near her home. The place is shrouded in mystery and legend. Everyone steers clear of the area. Ember wanting to get away heads to the forest. While there she meets a strange lady and has a strange conversation before heading deeper into the woods. There she meets a group of teens and has the time of her life. The next morning she leaves to go home. When she gets to school that morning she finds out everyone has been actually looking for her for 4 weeks.

Lost and confused she meets up with her drug buddies and ends up overdosing. After leaving the hospital her Grand Mother informs her she will be going into rehab. Ember decides to go back to the fun times in Trinity Forest hoping to find the group of teens again so she can feel alive again. She does find them but there is something strange about the place that she did not realize on her last visit. When she finds out she can never leave the Forest she fights to find a way home.

I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by Audiobookworm Promotions on behalf of various authors, narrators, and publishers. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

Top 10 List
Jess the Audiobookworm's top 10 Recommended Audiobook Activities
  1. Relaxing. This isn't so much an activity as a lack of an activity, but it allows for total audio immersion.
  2. Roadtripping. I love a great road trip playlist, but who says it has to be all about the music? Set cruise control and hit play!
  3. Exercising. Nothing takes my mind off of the pain of an intense workout like an even more intense story. A high-paced action thriller will still have your heart racing long after the cardio ends.
  4. Beaching. Audiobook listening is the ultimate summer fun. We've been bringing books to the pool and beach with us for decades, why not upgrade? Listening frees up your hands and you won't have to worry about a book blocking your sun or some kid splashing your pages.
  5. Working. Why count the hours in your work day when you could be counting the hours you've knocked off of your current audiobook? Turn 8 hour work days into 8 hour listening sessions. Just check with the boss first!
  6. Running errands. I always have an audiobook loaded up on my phone when heading out to run errands, especially if doctor visits are involved. I actually look forward to hanging out in waiting rooms now. I've also been known to accidentally LOL while listening in such situations… #awkward
  7. Coloring. Coloring is the perfect mindless activity to pair with audiobook listening. It's super relaxing and the combo keeps both your mind and hands occupied.
  8. Sleeping. I don't personally suffer from insomnia, but I've heard that audio listening has helped those who do. Listening to a great audiobook is the perfect way to drift peacefully off to sleep. Just remember to set a sleep timer on the book before settling in!
  9. Reading. Studies have shown that maximum comprehension is obtained through listening and reading simultaneously. This should end of the book versus audiobook debate once and for all. They’re both winners!
  10. Flying. Fear over flying? Pop an audio into your ears and lie back. I recommend choosing something relaxing like a nice Nicholas Sparks-esque romance. There's no need to heighten your anxiety with an adrenaline pumping Thriller.

Giveaway
Giveaway: $10 Amazon Gift Card


➜Sign up as a host here



3 comments:

  1. Your book sounds like a great read and thank you for sharing it with us.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like an interesting book. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I liked the review, thank you.

    ReplyDelete