Monday, June 4, 2018

Legacy in Legend by Barbara Pietron

Legacy in Legend
Barbara Pietron
(Legacy in Legend #0.5, 1, 2)
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
New from award-winning YA author Barbara Pietron, an ebook bundle of the prequel and first two books in the Legacy in Legend series.
About the series: In Thunderstone, Jeni and her family gather at Lake Itasca, Minnesota, to spread her grandfather’s ashes in the Mississippi Headwaters. While they are there, they agree to meet again at various locations along the Mississippi River to remember him as they trace his journey to the Gulf of Mexico. These gatherings set the foundation for the Legacy in Legend series. Every time the family assembles, Jeni comes in contact with a malicious otherworldly element. These frightening and perilous encounters are no help in Jeni’s search for her spiritual heritage, as the supernatural entities come from a variety of mythologies and lore. Yet each vengeful confrontation makes it more important that she discover and harness whatever power she possesses so she can protect herself and her loved ones and, ultimately, end the deadly attacks.
The Legacy in Legend Series brings together mythology and suspense along with a little bit of romance when Jeni meets Shattered Ice, an apprentice medicine man. The prequel, Heart of Ice, is about Ice before he meets Jeni. Thunderstone and Veiled Existence are told from both Jeni’s and Ice’s point of view.

My Review:
I was given the 3 book set for a book tour sponsored by Expresso Book Tours. Legacy in Legend is a YA Paranormal set.  My thoughts of the set overall was that Barbara Pietron has done a great job. I appreciate that she eloquently goes into Native American practices and heritage instead of giving them a Hollywood facade. This set keeps you in the edge of your seat and turning pages as fast as possible. I do not usually read a lot of YA books but I do love Paranormal. The main characters in this set of book are teenagers but I was still enthralled in this set, and enjoyed it very much. I like that each book has an ending, it doesn't leave you with a cliff hanger. You could read these as stand alones but you would not have the full backstory.

Heart of Ice is the prequal to Thunderstone which is book 1 of the set and Veiled Existance is book 2.

In Heart of Ice we meet Ice he is a Obijwe medicine man apprentice, and takes it very seriously. He lives with his single mom and is home schooled. He really has no friends until he joins a Hockey team at the High School. There he meets Lynn Ballentine. She is the sister of the Hockey teams captain. She asks Ice to a dance at school.

Ice goes on a spirit quest and instead of being led by the usual Otter, this time it was a Manitou who turns into a bear. This is the Windigo a human turned monster by a compulsive hunger for human flesh. He soon finds out a bad medicine charm is spreading Windigo curse. IT s up to him to find out who is using the charm and where it is to stop the spread of the curse, 

In Thunderstone we meet Jeni Stonewall, she is on vacation with her family to Lake Itasca, Minnesota. She is bored and misses her friends until she meets Ice. Ice informs her she is connected to the spirit world and has released a mythical underwater monster. She does not believe him at first. When she finally starts to believe she then hast to figure out how to save the locals, Ice and herself.  I was not as impressed the Thunderstone as I was with Heart of Ice but it was still a good story.

Veiled Existence is book 2 of the Legacy in Legend series and again its main characters are Jeni and Ice. in this book Jeni is waiting on ice to join her family for vacation but he doesn't show. Jeni finds out he has been abducted. He's also been cursed. Jeni is suffering horrible nightmares and in trying to understand her new path in life trying to figure out what exactly being connected the spirit world means Now she must also save Ice and break the curse. Not only does this book delve into Native American Heritage and folklore it also features Irish and Celtic legend.

Author Bio:
Having a love for witches and vampires before they were trendy, Barbara gravitates toward stories with supernatural elements both when she reads and when she writes. Although classified as young adult, her books are enjoyed by a wide audience—pre-teen through adult.
Barbara’s novel Thunderstone was awarded 2013 Book of the Year Finalist status by Forward Reviews and before it was published, Thunderstone was a quarter-finalist in the 2012 Amazon Breakout Novel Award contest, winning a review by Publisher’s Weekly.
When she’s not writing, Barbara works in a library where she’s tortured by all the books she has yet to read. She’s a cult fan of the movies Labyrinth and Nightmare Before Christmas and a fan of all things Tim Burton. Barbara lives in Royal Oak, Michigan with her husband, daughter and a cat that often acts like a dog.


1 comment:

  1. Thanks for hosting today, Teresa! And great review this sounds like a well written and fun series! :)